Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Delicious!! I make a double batch, cut into 24 squares, freeze, and take out of the freezer when I want to eat. They are always moist and filling. I used dried cranberries, cherries, and raisins, almonds instead of walnuts, and I added some flax seed. Next time I will substitute either another egg or more applesauce for the oil. I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Awesome! After reading the other reviews, I can't wait to try all kinds of variations like coconut, protein powder, and more! This will be a new staple in my house. I pushed them down with a spatula before putting them in the oven, and again when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very packed full of energy, so I cut these into squares instead of bars. I just thought it was a bit much for me! Tastes good. I left out the nuts bc I didn't want to chop any and used a dried fruit mixture of apricots, apples, and peaches. Only thing I changed was to use white flour--I'm out of whole wheat. Very nice, very easy, and yes, they are chewy and soft. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
These power bars are very satisfying! I've made them several times and find myself wanting to eat them all throughout the day. Instead of vegetable oil, I add a little more applesauce and honey. It seems to work out just as well. I'll be continuing to make these for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Vesely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmStan
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
These turned out AMAZING!!! I altered it just a bit... used 3/4 cup of applesauce like another user suggested & omitted the oil. I also only used raisins, about 6oz. Baked them in muffin tins for about 15 minutes, they came out super moist, like a dense little muffin. I've only had one, because my husband and son devoured the rest :P I will definitely be keeping this recipe, since my family is already bugging me about the next time I'll make them!! I think this is going to become a weekly thing in our house, thank you so much (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
So pleased to have found a versatile recipe for granola bars. Here are a few comments... 1) Done 'as is' the recipe comes out more cereal bar consistency than granola bar. I like mine a little crunchier so with the second batch, I formed them into bars before baking and they came out perfect! I saw a few reviewers doubling up the applesauce, so be aware before you decide to do this. 2) In lieu of the walnuts & fruits, you can substitute the same 1.5 cups of anything. We've tried mango with shredded and diced coconut and choc chip and coconut so far - delicious! 3) Taste before adding egg for sweetness. I actually only put 2 tbs. sugar and less honey bec I was using dried fruit which was already sweet. Plus, the 'raw dough' is delicious bec it has the crunch of the Grape Nuts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very delicious, healthier than other granola bars and don't fall apart as easily. Made them with all purpose gluten-free flour and brown rice crispie cereal to make a gluten-free recipe. Used a wee less sugar because added peanut M&Ms and crasins to them. Delicious and a great cross country skiing snack :) Also I ended up making a second batch for my brother and his friends for their road trip! Everyone agrees they are yummy so thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This recipe looked promising, but I wasn't real excited about it. It was slightly soft yet completely dry. To top, it had some honey and a little brown sugar, but tasted like it had near no sweetener. The only change I made was cutting the dried fruit in half. I do that in most recipes with no problem. 1/2 came out to be 3/4 of a cup. I found it to be more than enough. I really hate wasting food so I got an idea from a friend to eat one as cereal. I crumbled it in a bowl with milk and topped with a sprinkle of Truvia. It solved the dryness and the lack of sweetness. Hopefully, none will go to waste now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Loved these, Made some subs, coconut oil, protein powder, coconut palm sugar. Flax seeds. They were a little sweet for me with so next time might cut down on the honey and dried fruit, but will make them again. Mine worked out to 12 squares at 150 calories a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taag4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States