Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
These are really good but don't know why they have to stay in the fridge... they get really hard in there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Really great base recipe. I made the following minor substitutions/changes: (1) Used garbanzo flour instead of wheat to make them gluten-free; (2) used agave sweetener instead of honey and omitted the brown sugar; (3) used a mixture of almonds, cashews, pepitas, raisins, cranberries, mini white and chocolate chips, and dried pineapple; (4) added a heaping tablespoon of natural style peanut butter; (5) used Barbara's multi-grain cereal; (6) greased the foil with coconut oil. I will never buy another store-bought granola bar. Love that I can control the fat and sugar in these and there's no preservatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I hate to say it, but these were not good at all. They were extremely dense and tasted like soggy/stale Grape Nuts. I made them exactly as the recipe reads so I'm not really sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made these just like the recipe calls for and we loved them! I cut them into 12 bars and put them in plastics bags and stored them in the refrigerator and we each had one for breakfast for a week! I will be making these again soon! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These are so nice and easy! I did make a couple adjustments because I didn't have enough dried fruit I through in some dark chocolate chips. I also didn't use any oil or brown sugar but added more applesauce and a banana. Definitely will be making these again. They just seem so much healthier for you than anything in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very simple and very tasty. I have made these a few times my husband loves them and I use all kinds of different fruits. They don't last longer than 2 days before I am making more. Great to have for snacks in the house. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A bit sticky, but good. Tasted fine with unsweetened applesauce and pecans (instead of walnuts). Need to bake a little longer - maybe 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
EASY and very very tasty - I didn't rate 5 because I don't like power bars. Weird, right? Husband loves them and I am an absolute gem to accommodate him! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Just made these...trying to find a breakfast bar and this is it! I did change it up a little. I substituted the wheat flour for this peanut butter powder(picture), I used coconut oil for the veg oil. Almonds instead of walnuts and pecans instead of sunnies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These are amazing! I changed up the recipe using pecan nuts instead of walnuts, using only 1 1/2 Tbsp of brown sugar (will leave it out completely next time) and adding 1 cup of chocolate Shakeology and 1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce. Mixed up berries according to my own taste by using dried cranberries, dried red raisins and dried white raisins. Might actually try these with peanutbutter next time :)! Love it - they are a constant item in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States