Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I definitely look some liberties with this recipe but It gave me a great place to start from! I didn't have and grape-nuts so I used Kashi Cereal instead. I also switched out the sunflower seeds for more walnuts and added a few tablespoons of wheat germ (trying to up the protein) overall these were great! Sort of reminded me of a Clif Bar. I also used a tablespoon less brown sugar and they were perfectly sweet. I'm looking forward to trying new modifications to the recipe! Thank's for a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was a decent recipe. Endless possibilities on combonations. But it wasnt a huge hit with the family. We all enjoyed it when I first made it. But nobody ever asked for more and there was one left that sat for about 3 weeks. So obviously not a memorable recipe, but it was very easy to make and had a decent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Made exactly as described and these are great.I used raisins for the fruit and cooked about 33 minutes. Will make these again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Such a great recipe! I am allergic to nuts and sunflower seeds and i substituted the seeds for flax seed and just didnt add nuts! They are great! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by equine101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Delicious!! I make a double batch, cut into 24 squares, freeze, and take out of the freezer when I want to eat. They are always moist and filling. I used dried cranberries, cherries, and raisins, almonds instead of walnuts, and I added some flax seed. Next time I will substitute either another egg or more applesauce for the oil. I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Awesome! After reading the other reviews, I can't wait to try all kinds of variations like coconut, protein powder, and more! This will be a new staple in my house. I pushed them down with a spatula before putting them in the oven, and again when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very packed full of energy, so I cut these into squares instead of bars. I just thought it was a bit much for me! Tastes good. I left out the nuts bc I didn't want to chop any and used a dried fruit mixture of apricots, apples, and peaches. Only thing I changed was to use white flour--I'm out of whole wheat. Very nice, very easy, and yes, they are chewy and soft. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
These power bars are very satisfying! I've made them several times and find myself wanting to eat them all throughout the day. Instead of vegetable oil, I add a little more applesauce and honey. It seems to work out just as well. I'll be continuing to make these for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Vesely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmStan
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
These turned out AMAZING!!! I altered it just a bit... used 3/4 cup of applesauce like another user suggested & omitted the oil. I also only used raisins, about 6oz. Baked them in muffin tins for about 15 minutes, they came out super moist, like a dense little muffin. I've only had one, because my husband and son devoured the rest :P I will definitely be keeping this recipe, since my family is already bugging me about the next time I'll make them!! I think this is going to become a weekly thing in our house, thank you so much (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States