Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I hate to say it, but these were not good at all. They were extremely dense and tasted like soggy/stale Grape Nuts. I made them exactly as the recipe reads so I'm not really sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made these just like the recipe calls for and we loved them! I cut them into 12 bars and put them in plastics bags and stored them in the refrigerator and we each had one for breakfast for a week! I will be making these again soon! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These are so nice and easy! I did make a couple adjustments because I didn't have enough dried fruit I through in some dark chocolate chips. I also didn't use any oil or brown sugar but added more applesauce and a banana. Definitely will be making these again. They just seem so much healthier for you than anything in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very simple and very tasty. I have made these a few times my husband loves them and I use all kinds of different fruits. They don't last longer than 2 days before I am making more. Great to have for snacks in the house. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A bit sticky, but good. Tasted fine with unsweetened applesauce and pecans (instead of walnuts). Need to bake a little longer - maybe 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
EASY and very very tasty - I didn't rate 5 because I don't like power bars. Weird, right? Husband loves them and I am an absolute gem to accommodate him! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Just made these...trying to find a breakfast bar and this is it! I did change it up a little. I substituted the wheat flour for this peanut butter powder(picture), I used coconut oil for the veg oil. Almonds instead of walnuts and pecans instead of sunnies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These are amazing! I changed up the recipe using pecan nuts instead of walnuts, using only 1 1/2 Tbsp of brown sugar (will leave it out completely next time) and adding 1 cup of chocolate Shakeology and 1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce. Mixed up berries according to my own taste by using dried cranberries, dried red raisins and dried white raisins. Might actually try these with peanutbutter next time :)! Love it - they are a constant item in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Love
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I think next time I will try a bar with peanut butter. These were very good, I used a bit of pumpkin pie filling with the applesauce, and then cranberries and pecans for Fall. They are filling and great for breakfast or after a work out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Great bar. I made some changes, I did not have the cereal so I put extra oats. I did not use the oil but replaced it with almond butter,I left the nuts out only because I did not have any but will add next time. I used dried tart cherries and apricots as apricots go well with any other fruit. I put half whole wheat flour and half whey protein powder. Threw in a handful of mini choc chips, baked for 23 min and they are delicious. I really don't think you can ruin this recipe, just put in what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States