Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
One of my favorite snacks to bring on trips - and the buys all love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbslips

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These are delicious! My changes: 1 tbs sunflower oil, 1 tbs sesame oil (omega 3's!) used almonds instead of sunflower seeds. Added 2 tbs coconut flakes. doubled the cinnamon. Substituted half the flour for flax seed meal (protein!) for the fruit....I did 3 tbs raisins and 3 tbs dried papaya. Amazing! I can't wait to experiment with other nuts, fruits, extracts, etc. Thank you:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were great!! I used sesame seeds in place of sunflower, and added a little candied orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My only regret is that I didn't try these months ago! I've been looking for something to replace store-bought granola bars and these are perfect. I can make a double batch and put half in the freezer. Amazingly, they're almost too sweet for me with all the dried fruit. I followed the recipe almost completely. Left out the sunflower seeds and subbed raisin bran for the Grape-Nuts, as someone else suggested. Next time I'll experiment, for sure, including leaving out the brown sugar. Be sure not to overbake--that would make these bars dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
If you have have a gluten free life this is perfect! It is a great alternative for the "granola" bars at the store (some have hidden wheat or processed in a wheat environment ), and healthier. All of us in the family love them. I use rice flour for a gluten free recipe. I also omit the cereal,at no expense to the flavor, and use raisins for the fruit. My son now feels like he too can enjoy what the other kids are having... they are jealous because his is better than the store bought bars :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
OMG these are so good I just ate 2 of them. I did not want to use nuts because I have young children, so I subbed 1 1/2 cups of coconut flakes, raisins & chocolate chips for the fruit & nut portion. I also used old fashioned oats since I do not have any quick. Oh, also left out the cinnamon and instead added a dash of vanilla. Next time I will try adding mashed banana instead of the oil & may try adding flax seed or wheat germ. Love these! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
These have a nice flavor. I substituted more applesauce for the oil, pecans instead of walnuts, and dried cranberries instead of the mixed fruit. They are tasty, easy to make and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Soft and chewy in a not good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Thank You soooo much for shareing this recipe. Just what I've been looking for. I was wanting to make a trek like bar from Great Harvest, and this is close enough for me. I love that I can mix up the ingredients to what I feel like. I of course made my own twist of the origional recipe. Thank you again! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These go very fast whenever I make them. I follow the recipe exactly and they turn out wonderfully. These are healthy, and great for busy families on the go in the mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States