Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was looking for a way to get healthy calories into my son (picky eater, low weight) There were great! We added chopped apricots and currents (all we had for dried fruit and apricots are his favourite) and a handful of choclate chips (to get my son to eat them, always works). Only reason I gave it a 4 star is they were crumbly. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
too "honey" tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This turned out great! Awesome meal substitute if you missed breakfast! I think the recipe could do with a pich of salt, though I made it as is except without cereal and used almonds and mixed health seeds (sunflower, pumkin seed, linsee, sesame seed) and mixed dried fruit and walnuts. You can actually use anything as long as the base recipe remains the same, because this works perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pietermaritzburg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I love these bars!! I add so many things to them and they just always taste wonderful. My favorite mix-ins are chopped almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins, craisins and flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Good basic snack bar recipe. I think next time I will add some more nuts and maybe some wheat germ and flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Everyone who had one loved them! My parents are in the vending business and so they were very interested in these "homemade granola bars"! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
One of my favorite snacks to bring on trips - and the buys all love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbslips

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These are delicious! My changes: 1 tbs sunflower oil, 1 tbs sesame oil (omega 3's!) used almonds instead of sunflower seeds. Added 2 tbs coconut flakes. doubled the cinnamon. Substituted half the flour for flax seed meal (protein!) for the fruit....I did 3 tbs raisins and 3 tbs dried papaya. Amazing! I can't wait to experiment with other nuts, fruits, extracts, etc. Thank you:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were great!! I used sesame seeds in place of sunflower, and added a little candied orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My only regret is that I didn't try these months ago! I've been looking for something to replace store-bought granola bars and these are perfect. I can make a double batch and put half in the freezer. Amazingly, they're almost too sweet for me with all the dried fruit. I followed the recipe almost completely. Left out the sunflower seeds and subbed raisin bran for the Grape-Nuts, as someone else suggested. Next time I'll experiment, for sure, including leaving out the brown sugar. Be sure not to overbake--that would make these bars dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali Peacock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States