Jo Ann's Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I thought this frosting was terrible. The ratio of shortening to sugar makes it taste like you are eating a lot of plain shortening. Maybe I am unique, but I prefer my frosting to not taste like shortening, and if enough powdered sugar is added, it will be a lot better. Oh and I would also add a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
thank you so much,for this great rec1pe. i really have enjoyed it. God bless every one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Good, quick and easy recipe but I had to do some tweaking because it was a little too bland and had too much of that crisco texture to it. I used about 3 tsp of vanilla, maybe more because I stopped measuring after 2 tsp. I also added more confectioners sugar which helped the texture. I think next time I'll use butter or may try margarine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Smells like almond, tastes like whipped lard. Upon adding more powdered sugar (almost twice the amount), the lard flavor prevailed as it oiled the roof of my mouth. I absolutely hated it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This was a good frosting. The vanilla and almond flavoring was perfect for a yellow cake with raspberry filling, which I used it for. The only problem was that it wasn't enough for a 9"layer cake. I don't mind making a larger batch but it's helpful to know before hand. It was too late to start another recipe because I had company coming. It would be enough for a sheet cake but make 1 1/2 recipes to cover adequately an 8 or 9 " layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I used this frosting on sugar cookies and it turned out wonderfully. Everyone complemented on how good the cookies were. I will continue to use this frosting recipe whenever else I need it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I made this to frost on Hershey's Deep Dark Chocolate Cake. I didn't have enough baking cocoa to make their frosting. I only had 1/2 cup shortening for this recipe, so I used butter for the other 1/2 cup. Other than that, no changes. The shortening taste in this frosting was very evident to the point of being sickening. I think I will try this again with only butter. Meanwhile, I will scrape it off the cake and serve the cake with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This recipe saved the day! My son is allergic to milk so I need a recipe that doesn't have butter in it. I substituted soy milk for the milk in the recipe and it turned out great. It was easy to tint and piped beautifully. Not too sweet... just perfect. I can't say enough... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Tastes great!! I like it because it's not too heavy, it's "whipped", which is just the way I like it. I also like the flavor that the almond extract gives it. I did'nt have butter shortening, so I used 2 sticks of margarine, and I added a little extra confectioners sugar to get it the right consistancy. I also added a little red food coloring to make pink frosting for a valentines day cake. If it isn't beat long enough, it will come out too thin. I almost made that mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This is the best frosting for cakes. I was looking for a frosting that wasn't so sweet and this one is unbelievable! Everyone who tries this frosting agrees that it is the best! It tastes great on mock-angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States