Jim's Pork Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
We liked it and I want to make a second batch before I say this is the one just because I'm not thrilled with the four day wait especially with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I believe that I am responsible for my low rating on this recipe (rather than the recipe itself). I don't know what chorizo is supposed to taste like, but mine tasted like a dense version of chili con carne owing to the chili powder - and I would have preferred chili con carne. However, I did make the mistake of adding Hungarian paprika (instead of Spanish paprika) to the meat since I didn't realize that I was supposed to use Spanish paprika, and of course these paprikas taste completely different from each other. Also, I only rested the meat mixture overnight (not 4 days as instructed). I suggest that if you want to make this recipe you use Spanish paprika and follow the instructions to let it marinate for 4 days. REVIEW UPDATE: Much to my surprise, this meat mixture tasted much better after sitting in the freezer for a couple of weeks. It must have "marinated" in the freezer. I couldn't let the meat marinate in the fridge for 4 days as instructed because the expiry date on my meat was for 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Yummy! I only let mine sit over night. I don't know how most people eat chorizo, but I grew up eating chorizo and egg breakfast tacos. So I cooked the meat, then scrambled eggs with it. So happy I "found" chorizo without all the weird body part in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made a few changes suggested by others and have made this three times now. Great way to use venison....mix with venison, onions, and peppers for fahitas. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Good, although I read 'chili' powder to be hot chilli powder (scaled it back to 2TBSP) instead of TexMex style chili powder. With this accidental modification, I enjoyed it and everyone else had good words for it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I thought this was quite good. My husband and I are from California but living in Denmark. We really miss the Mexican Chorizo, and this really hit the spot. I did add a splash of red wine to the mix as I have seen it suggested in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Great recipe as is. To respondent chvickers: chorizo is Spanish in origin, so it stands to reason that the paprika called for would the Spanish variety. Moreover, since when is Hungarian paprika considered "normal" paprika? You're correct, not everyone resides in the U.S. - but how does that sarcastic comment enlighten the reader???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Added garlic powder, more paprika, omitted cloves. For the future, I will add a pinch ground coriander and 1/4 tsp cumin. I did my research, and this combo was the best pork chorizo recipe I could find. I loved it!! I made a double batch and am freezing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Easy to make and worth the effort. This chorizo is better than any I have found in the stores. Use it with any recipe; it has a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I love this recipe! The only time I don't make my own chorizo now is when I get given it as a gift. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDFIORO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States