Jim's Pineapple Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had been craving a pineapple cream pie for weeks. Then I came across this recipe! I modified it with a graham cracker crust and only used a 3oz island pineapple jello, but it was exactly what I wanted, which was a cheesecake-like texture and taste without the baking. Not too sweet and not to sour. This is a great pot luck dessert that can be altered for berries instead of pineapple. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Everyone seemed to really rate this recipe high, but, we just weren't a big fan of it. The filling of the pie tasted very artificial to us. The artificial flavor was definitely coming from the pineapple jello. It may just be my family's personal taste. I think if I made this with orange jello and some mandarin oranges or even switched out with strawberry jello we would have liked it better. Something about the pineapple jello flavor profile just skewed the taste for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This recipe is wonderful. If you use the smaller pie shells and make 2 receipe's, you can make 3 pies. This is great for taking to Church socials. Everyone who has tried it has enjoyed it. You can make it less sweet by using only 8 oz of no sugar cool whip instead of 12 oz. It tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Just the recipe I was looking for. My changes: Used a graham craker crust, and "whipped" a regular 8 Oz. block of cream cheese. Added, an oatmeal cookie crumb topping because I had a few stale cookies around. Delcious and I like the fact that it uses gelatin instead of pudding or condensed milk, the cream cheese (which I didn't use low fat)was enough dairy calories in this pie. My jello was tropical pineapple , so it had kind of a tropical summery tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I made this for a dinner party, and the hostess asked for the recipe! It was a hit! Very fluffy and perfect for summer. Not overpoweringly sweet, but decievingly rich, so cut small slices. I made my own graham cracker crust, and the filling was the perfect amount for the 9-inch pie plate I used. A great summer recipe, and it requires so few ingredients! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIGARBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I make this everytime there is a potluck at work and the only thing I change is switch out the pineapple geletin for orange and it tastes great! Yes, there is a lot of filling left over but I put it into dessert cups and enjoy it at home because there is never any pie left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NECTARMAIDEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I likes this recipe. but my husband did not, not a big fan of pineapple from a can, make sure you use sweet pineapple. and mix everything very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brodhead, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I am a college student and decided to make this pie as my contribution to my family's Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved it and said it was a great alternative to the usual holiday desserts. It was so cheap and easy to make. I used a no bake graham cracker crust and it was wonderful. I will definately be making this again, perhaps with different types of fruit to experiment. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2000
I dont know if i did something wrong, but the filling was enough for 2 pies!!the pie did taste like cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States