Jim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
7-30-11: This was quite good; next time make more of the dressing than called for. consider adding frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
It's a great recipe but I added celery seed. You can also use chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Delicious! i needed something different for a pot luck at my father in law's I used rotini noodles and put homemade mayo mmm!-mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was just what I was looking for: Grandma's macaroni salad. I didn't want drippy, tangy, grocery deli macaroni salad. This one was a perfect "pasta" salad. Perfect for my taste, blending grandma's macaroni with Kraft ranch pasta salad. It's really good and simple. I took the advice of others and doubled the mayo-vinegar dressing. Do this! I promise it won't be soupy! Slicing olives is tedious so I stopped at a 1/2 can. Try this. Stir the olives in. If you think you need more, you've got a half can in front of you, so add what you like. I love crunch and was so itching to add celery, but the bell pepper and onion, plus the chopped pickle and pimento added enough crunch to satisfy the celery freak/ extra lettuce me. I enjoyed this so much, I made another batch 3 days later. 3 days after that I was buying macaroni salad at the grocery store to fulfill my craving while on my lunch break at work. Does not compare! Make this salad! It's my new fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
What a great salad!! I get bored with traditional salads so was super excited to find this one. I did make a few slight changes ... I did 1/2 C of mayo with 1/2 C of light sour cream & 1 1/2 tbsp of vinegar ... creates a thinner and smoother dressing. I also omitted the cheese because it seemed like an odd ingredient with the rest. Absolutely enjoyed it! Have been asked to make again 3x already! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I only thought that this salad was average and a bit too cheesey for macaroni salad. I am not interested in making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was a big hit at our Memorial Day party!!! I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did different was add extra mayonnaise and a half a red bell pepper. This was by far the best macaroni salad I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chunky Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Super yummy. I used shells instead of macaroni and added in 1/2 tsp of garlic and 1 tbl of grey poupon. Also, used sweet relish instead of pickles and "seasons blend" instead of having to chop all the vegggies. Left out the eggs, pimentos, olives, and cheese simply because I thought that would be too much for my taste, though it might be a little bland without them for the rest of you. I thought this salad was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccergirl37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I wanted to love this but it was dry and very plain tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a very tasty recipe! I like to let it sit overnight so the flavors can mingle. The one thing I changed was to use less macaroni. Because the recipe as it is makes A LOT of salad, but not enough sauce. I used about 12 ounces of macaroni vs. 16 ounces. Right now my 2 yr old is "Mmm Mmm!"-ing this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States