Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Fabulous Irish Soda Bread! I love Irish soda bread and generally only make it once a year. And, I'll admit I'm used to the ones that are a bit more on the sweet side - made with raisins or currants best enjoyed with a cup of tea. This was a nice departure! I made it exactly as directed and since no "type" of onion was specified I chose the "green" onion in keeping with St. Patrick's Day. Plus, it's mild and pairs well with Cheddar cheese. Like others, I did use a bit more buttermilk but other than that this recipe is perfect. I scored it lightly before popping it into the oven and it baked up perfectly in the alotted time. Keri, please thank your friend Jim for this wonderful recipe. It's a definite keeper and one I'll make more than once a year! UPDATE: Made this again (easily becoming a new favorite) and added in a bit of minced garlic and some chopped sun-dried tomatoes...definitely turns soup or salad into a meal! Try it with a little "Herb Butter" from this site too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made this recipe as wriitten but for using all purpose flour. The aroma as it was baking was unreal, but I admit I wasn't really expecting it to have quite the equal amount of flavor. I was wrong. Great flavor and a soft airy texture along with a nice crisp crust makes this recipe a keeper. Do expect to have to add more buttermilk as others did - it was neccessary for me to add more. Thanks, Jim, for generously giving up your terrific recipe for Keri to share here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I'm happy to be this recipe's first reviewer! This is not your average soda bread - I'm sure no soda bread aficionado, but in my limited experience I've found it to be quite plain and, well, kind of boring - but not Jim's! This is SO flavorful; and not (duh) just because of the add-ins. Whether it's the buttemilk, the touch of powdered sugar or maybe just the right amount of salt I don't know, but this bread really is "alive" with flavor. In addition, I found the bread flour an unusual but great choice - I love the sturdy structure it gave the bread. I was also a little concerned about the high oven temperature but here, too, it proved itself - it gave the bread a nice crust that I really loved. When I mixed this up I found I needed to add more buttermilk than called for to make the dough come together, but that was no big deal. I did use the cheddar as directed, but for additional flavor and color I used chopped green onion rather than the regular ol' onion called for and I was very pleased both with how it looked and tasted. Since this was just for Hubs and me I scaled this down to 3 servings and made one, small loaf. Don't know how the submitter "scored" the recipe from Jim, but many on AR will be glad she did. This is one soda bread that should not be limited to St. Patrick's Day baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 3/12/11. I thought this might perk up the soup and salad I planned for dinner and it certainly did. I had to read the recipe 3 times to convince myself it called for baking powder and confectioners sugar. I resisted all urges to tweak and other than halving the recipe I made it exactly as written. It smelled lovely as it baked and it tasted just as good as it smelled. I used some Sweet Texas onion so the flavor is present, but not overwhelming. Next time I might add 1/2 tsp of Old Bay seasoning, but it really isn't lacking. Keri, you be nice to Jim - he gave you a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group and we LOVED it! I was really excited to try this for a few reasons...first, today we had our annual St. Patrick's Day dinner and though I always make traditional Irish soda bread, I wanted to try a savory version too. Second, It just sounded wonderful and third, my hubby's name is Jim, and I just knew he'd get a kick out of it, lol. I halved the recipe to just make 1 loaf because I also made the traditional bread. I also needed to add some extra buttermilk, opted to use green onions and did not have bread flour, so I used AP flour. This was simple to make and smelled amazing while baking (I scored it with a knife before baking and when I took it out, I brushed it w/ melted butter and sprinkled it w/ flour, just becasue that's the way I always make my soda bread). I knew this was a true winner when my super picky dad ate like 3 pieces and commented on how good it was! This was a great bread that I will be making a lot! Thanks for sharing this winner, Keri! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. I couldn't wait! Easy to put together, smells wonderful. Taste is really good. I used green onions instead of regular and AP flour. This may have made them a little more dense, I will try it again with bread flour. Neighbor came over and tasted one of the biscuits I made with the second ball of dough. She is in love and asked to take some home for dinner, LOL! I told her they are really good warm with butter. Thanks Keri!! I love non-yeast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very yummy bread! I made this exactly to the specifications of the recipe except halved, and it was perfect--down to the timing of the baking! Everyone loved this bread. Thanks, Keri, and make sure you let Jim know that his bread was a total hit! I'll be making another loaf very soon. UPDATE: Today I made these as mini muffins. Half a recipe fit perfectly into a 24-muffin tin. Thing is, we preferred it as a bread because the taste was much better, even when adding a little more onion and cheese as suggested by the author. The crust was better, but the taste was not the same. So the loaf for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Yum! I also had to add a bit more buttermilk and used green onions, delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This bread is ridiculously good. Too good. So good that it will make you fat, because you won't want to let anyone else have a slice. I'm sitting here with a very full belly after devouring 3/4 of the loaf. Like the last reviewer, I used spring onions, finely chopped, and strong mature cheddar cheese. I'd be interested to know if the confectioners' sugar adds anything that normal sugar wouldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I'm so glad Jim let it slip that he had a great recipe - it RoCkS! I did have to add a little bit more buttermilk to bring the dough together. I used green onions. The flecks of green and orange made this very visually appealing (we do eat first with our eyes). It smelled wonderful baking and was so delicious. I'll definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing Jim's recipe, Keri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States