Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was so good! My dad said it tasted like pierogi bread. Everyone really liked this bread! The only change I made was to use green onion. I liked the green onion flavor better and thought it made it look prettier with the green flecks in it that kinda looked like herbs. Will definitely be making this again as it was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
What a bonus this turned out to be. First off, it's the recipe group selection, and St Patrick's Day bread of choice. So, being out of buttermilk the quick fix of course is the milk/lemon juice trick, but I decided I wanted more. I also added about 1/4 C of plain yogurt to the soured milk to give it that thickness and sourness of real buttermilk. The addition also took care of the extra milk other reviewers said it needed. It was perfect. I wondered why the addition of the powdered sugar? I didn't add it and we didn't miss it. Cheese was a combo of both sharp white cheddar and Tillamook cheddar. I used an entire bunch of green onions instead of a yellow also. Thank you Jim for sharing this recipe. It was wonderfully easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very tasty. Great texture. Served with Irish Stew and potatoes for St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Hubs said he'd rather have this than dessert. I used green onions and sharp cheddar. Baked exactly 30 minutes. Served with Herb Butter from this site per Jillian's suggestion. Thanks Keri for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Made this for the Recipe Group this week. This is the best soda bread I have ever tasted or made. The entire family enjoyed it this evening with our St. Paddy's meal. I didn't realize that I only had 3/4 cup of buttermilk so I mixed up another cup of 2% milk with lemon juice and ended up using all of it (1 3/4 cup total). I had vidalia and green onions and after reading the other reviews, I was happy to see that many were using green onions and went with that option. Knowing that my granddaughter is more willing to eat smaller rolls or biscuits, I decided to make half of the recipe into biscuits. These cooked in approx. 22 min. The larger half, I followed the recipe and that cooked in approx 35 minutes. Mine weren't really browned at that point so I turned on the convection oven for just a couple of minutes and they browned up beautifully. The texture of this bread is wonderful. The flavors of the onion and cheese with a little twang from the buttermilk are delicious. I won't wait until next St. Patrick's day to make this bread again - I know it will be requested often. Thanks for sharing, Keri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Though it's not a traditional Irish soda bread recipe, this ended up being my favorite soda bread recipe. I have tried 3 or so Irish soda bread recipes in the past but never found any of them to be interesting enough to try making them again. Not this one!! I used Irish sharp cheddar cheese and fresh onions to make the bread and we just loved it. I will definitely make them again, maybe adding fresh herbs next time like chives or dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I used green onions and did the ole vinegar in the milk thing for buttermilk. I didn't make enough of the buttermilk, so I had to add a little extra plain milk to get the dough consistency right. Still, it turned out very well. I made biscuits and they took twenty minutes. I had company for dinner and these biscuits stole the show! Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe, Keri and Jim! *UPDATE* I just realized that I made a lucky mistake when making this bread. I added a cup each of the cheese and the onion rather than the suggested 3/4 cup each. It wasn't intentional this time, but it will be next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
The flavor is great, but user error prevented this from being superb for us. As an inexperienced bread maker, I misread the ingredients. I saw "bread flour" and thought, "Oh, I've got that." I actually had CAKE flour...the only other flour I had was white whole wheat flour, so I used that. After 30 minutes, it was still raw in the middle, so I cooked it about 10 more minutes and we ate the outsides of it with supper. I think they would have cooked better as biscuits and I'll try that next time, along with the correct flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Thanks to Keri and to Jim for sharing a great recipe. Made for the recipe group/ for family dinner on St. Patrick's day. Used a chopped red onion as that's what was available. House smelled wonderful while the oven was baking, family really enjoyed the levels of flavor. Kids don't care for onion, but really liked the flavor in these biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I was intrigued to try this soda bread --without any soda! It tastes fantastic (I'm an onion lover!) Mine came out quite dense, which I wasn't expecting. I think since it behaves so much like drop biscuit dough, I was expecting a light fluffy drop biscuit texture (think Bisquick biscuits) but I got something a lot more sturdy. Mine had to wait about 4 hours before getting eaten -- so it was cold -- and it STILL filled the house with an oniony aroma when I cut into it (which I liked!). I added 1/2 tsp. caraway seeds because I love them (and because they're so good with Cheddar and onions). You may (or may not) need about 2-4 more tablespoons of buttermilk to make your dough come together properly. Thank you for sharing, Keri, and thanks Jim, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States