Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Was good, needs less onions or to use green onions. Used sharp cheddar cheese and that was really good. Needs to cook about 33 min on convection 325F. Is ok but not fasntastic, although its a good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Fantastic flavor and so easy to prepare. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
YUMMM....My dh can't get enough.I made my first batch with ap flour and my second with bread flour. It does make a diffrence. Next time i am going to add a little jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley85r

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Shouldn't soda bread have baking soda in it? The flavor was fantastic but this is not soda bread. I also omitted the sugar-it was an accident but I won't bother with it in the future either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yummy bread! I used AP flour, 1/3 C green onions, and diced the cheese instead of grating it so there were little cheesy pockets. Like others, I had to add 1/4 cup additional buttermilk so the dough would hold together. Because it was St. Patrick's Day, I added 15 drops of green food coloring to the buttermilk so my bread was very festive. I told my family it was Leprechaun Bread with Gold Nuggets :D The color was understandably a bit off putting, but perfect for the day and the flavor and texture were great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made this for Recipe Group just in time for St. Patrick's Day. Like others, I also used green onions and needed just a little more buttermilk for everything to bind together well. Next time, I will mash the dough flatter since it wasn't done in the middle yet the top was nicely browned. I put it back in the oven and tented it with foil to keep it from getting too brown. It all worked out in the end, and I loved the rustic, hard, crunchy crust. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Recipe Group****This was delicious! I did use green onions, next time I'll use the regular onion. Just wanted the green for St. Patrick's Day. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used onion powder, because I didn't have the onion. And I figured my kids wouldn't like the pieces of onion in the bread. I increased the cheese to 1 cup. I cut cold butter into the bread and then stirred in the cheese and lastly added the milk. Definitely flatten to about an inch and then cut a big "x" in the top so it will split and look pretty when it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made this for the Recipe Group this week. It was delicious! I did find I needed to add about another 1/3 cup of buttermilk to get my dough to hold together well. I used yellow onion which had a nice flavor. A keeper for sure- thanks Keri and Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States