Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Amazing! This turned out SO good. I too used "green onion" (scallions), because we love these, and this turned out really good. I followed recipe exactly, but for some reason my dough was really dry, and wouldn't "stick" I had to add about 1/4C more of buttermilk - but I could have added too much flour, so that was my fault. Came out perfect anyways! Love it Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Have made many soda bread recipes over the years. This one is wonderful. I made it according to recipe and didn't change anything. Reheated second loaf in oven next day wrapped in foil and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
We loved this bread! I chopped the onions really really small so the kids wouldn't notice them and added a little extra cheese. I also had to add almost a cup more of buttermilk. So delicious and so perfect with our corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
First of all, for those reviewers wondering where the "soda" is, it's in the baking powder. ;-) Secondly, this bread was so quick and amazing! I even forgot to put in the vidalia onion, green onion, and cheese! I was too busy multi-tasking. I cannot wait to make this with those ingredients in it. I think I'll mix it up with other additions, too. I did realize I forgot the "flavoring", so I put an egg wash on the top of the loaves, then made them like "everything bagels" - garlic powder, onion flakes, sesame seeds, & poppy seeds. I used white whole wheat flour and next time I'll add some flax meal. I cannot wait to taste the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T and didn't enjoy it at all. Looked like a cheddar bay biscuit on steroids. Flavor was very bland. Guess soda bread isn't my fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Best soda bread I have had. Because my kids don't like raisins, I look for other ways to "jazz" up soda bread. Cheddar and onions were a great way to do just that. I did use green onions as did some others. The bread had great flavor and was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I made this as directed, pretty much exactly. I used 1 yellow onion (about 1 cup after my food processer pureed it :P) and 1 cup medium cheddar cheese. I had only 1 cup of buttermilk so I used the milk/lemon juice method to make another cup. I ended up using a total of 1 and 3/4 cups to get my dough to come together. However, since my onion ended up basically pureed it added a lot of liquid to the dough once I added it, which made me a little worried. However, it came out better than fine. :) Delicious flavor, especially when hot. I baked for 30 minutes and it was nice and brown on top, though slightly doughy in the center. Next time I'll cook a little longer, maybe putting foil over the top as another reviewer mentioned. My husband says this is his favorite bread of any that I've made, and I've made quite a few. And the fact that this is yeast-less and super easy makes this a new go-to bread recipe for us. I look forward to trying out new flavor combos with this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Awesome, I used what I had on hand. All purpose flour, regular onions and milk with lemon juice(in place of buttermilk). Turned out great, cannot wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Really good flavor. I used green onion and med. sharp cheddar. I wondered about the confectioners sugar, but it was just the right amount and complemented the savory. I wanted mine to be a loaf shape and the dough was a little stiff, so I added more buttermilk and put in loaf pan. It came out perfect. It may have been a finer crumb than this recipe, but it was great!! Thanks for the recipe. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Was good, needs less onions or to use green onions. Used sharp cheddar cheese and that was really good. Needs to cook about 33 min on convection 325F. Is ok but not fasntastic, although its a good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States