Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
this is a great bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leroy13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Delish!! All the way around. The ease of this recipe was great! The flavor popped on the crust with the flavoring on onions. My husband doesn't like raw crunchy onions but went back several times to get some of this bread. I followed the recipe to a T but used green onions to play off of others before me that used them for contrast and to pop, it soo did and I had such a beautiful loaf of bread, Speaking with the submitter. She helped me decide to take the 2nd part of the batch and make biscuit style rolls or drop style biscuits for something I was wanting. The 1st half I followed to putting it on parchment and patting it down but scoring it with a long knife into 6 pieces and letting it bake and the other half made about 13 biscuits. They went fast. I pulled the biscuits out at about 20-24 minutes and they quickly got buttered and eaten. The bigger loaf I left in and brushed butter on top to get that nice beautiful golden color...and it was devine and delish. The flavors between the cheese and the onion totally paired very well in this. I wouldn't change a thing about the over all bread. But I sure can see making this wonderful bread with other ingredients. This is an excellent bread on a side of soup/stew as well as some Colcannon. Thanks so much Keri, it's a surefire keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
LOVED this!! Made this yesterday for our Fathers day dinner! Everyone LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is a great recipe. Very similar to my grandmothers drop biscuits. Everyone loved it. It was a little to sweet for my taste with both the onions and sugar. so next time I will omit the sugar. But I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is SO easy and SO good!!! I used green onions and I love the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoryAmara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Maybe it's me getting used to my convection oven, but the bread never cooked through. It was doughy. I tried cooking it longer, but the outside hardened and it was impossible to eat. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nackawic, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
A M A Z I N G ! My kids now request "Jim's Bread". I heard my 12 yr old explaining that he didn't know who Jim was, but his bread is really good! The onions have to be minced and you can have bread on the table (2 large loaves) inside of an hour. Not messy and so so good! My Kitchen Aid Mixer and the dough hook rock this! I have made this with fresh basil and sun dried tomatoes and roasted and chopped garlic. The original recipe is still the best. Going to make it as pizza crust and spread it out super thin! SO SO GREAT! Thanks for the recipe! I have made it once a week since I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Awesome bread... this turned out amazing... I can think of so many things I could do with this recipe... I might try jalapeno peppers... chives... garlic.. and so many other options with this great soda bread recipe... will definately make again as is and maybe try playing with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I’m not a big fan of bread (eating or cooking), but I love cheese, so I thought I’d give this a try as it looked easy. Gosh, am I ever glad that I did; it was DELICIOUS. I did use fresh chives instead of onion since I had loads growing in the garden; plus, I think chives and cheese are a natural together. Only bad thing about this recipe is that it’s so good I’ll have to avoid the scales as I’m craving more, but next time I’m going to make it into biscuits instead of a loaf. As a note, I also had to add a bit more buttermilk and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clonsilla, County Dublin, Ireland

Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States