Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
It was very wet before I baked it. It wasn't done in the prescribed time, I am bakng longer. What could be wrong? It has been in an additional 30 minutes. Still very wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I needed a quick bread something to go with beef stew and decided to try a half recipe of this. It was very quick and easy and I love the onion flavor. I didn't have cheddar and had to use a milder cheese which was still good but I'll get cheddar for next time. I baked at 400 (convection) and it probably could have used another minute. I was worried it would be dry looking at some of the photos but it was not at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This reminds me of Chedder Bay biscuits. It was flavorful and was moist even the next day. This one is a keeper for sure. next time I may add a little garlic just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
INCREDIBLE!! Now, I did make a few very minor changes because of what I had in the house, like using all purpose flour. I used dried white / green onions, I doubled the baking powder, and I used about 3/4 c. milk with vinegar in it to sour it. But all those substitutions are basic and should not change the flavor or texture much. This bread is AWESOME. It came together so easily! Puffed right up, took 5 minutes to throw together, and baked while I made dinner. Everyone loved it. I love that it uses things I normally have in the house and is so quick and easy, not to mention delicious. A winner for sure! I let my dough sit for 5 minutes on the tray before baking to help it rise, I don't know know if that makes a difference but it can't hurt. Definitely try this. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Yum! I had to bring a soda bread to a St Patrick's Day dinner last night and thought I would give this recipe a try. Traditional soda bread is a little on the sweet side and I was looking for something that would be good to eat with the irish stew that was being served. OMG! this was delicious and pretty simple. I will be making again. It does require more buttermilk and I followed other reviews and used green onion which I think really made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Love, love, love this bread! It tastes like a cross between a biscuit and bread. The onions are not at all overpowering and the cheese is just right. Served on St Patricks day with cornbeef and cabbage. Will definitely make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Fabulous! I never really liked soda bread - too bland and boring - but this has great texture and flavor! I grated my onion, and also added about 2 Tbsp chopped chives (I liked the idea of using scallions for color, but I had none, so chives was the next best thing). I also used extra sharp cheddar. I think my baking time was about 10 minutes longer for some reason (I could see the center was still doughy) but other than that, the instructions are spot on. We loved it! Thanks, Keri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
First attempt at any sort of bread and it turned out great! I really dislike onions so I left them out. I was a little concerned at how crumbly my dough was so I may use a bit more buttermilk next time as others have suggested. Thanks for sharing, will for sure make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This bread was fun and simple to make. I give it four stars because it was heavy and biscuit-like, which I hadn't realized, and I'm not all that fond of biscuits. Then again, the heaviness could have been a result of the fact that I used melted butter and olive oil in place of softened, and all-purpose flour instead of bread flour. Even so, my boyfriend liked it well enough and went back for seconds, so I think if you are a fan of biscuit-type bread then this loaf would be a nice variation on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was great bread! I did have to add extra buttermilk to make this come together. It was delicious and I'll definitely make it again. I used green onions as other reviewers had suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States