Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this on St Patrick's Day since no one in the family likes regular soda bread. This was a hit with everyone! Iused regular flour since I didn't have cake flour and it was fine. Next time I may add a little more milk, onion & cheese since it was slightly dry. I also may take someone else's suggestion & try green onion. We are now soda bread fans(at least this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved this! Easy to make, tasty, great with soup! Best warm from the oven, of course, but sliced and toasted with butter the next day is wonderful, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We ate both loaves in one day. I followed the recipe except for adding a 2.5 oz. bag of real bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
followed the receipe as written and found it to be very dry.had to add about another cup of buttermilk and then it came out quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I am wondering if there was a mistake in the recipe. I followed the recipe using mild cheddar and green onions. I too think the flavor bland and can pick up the metallic taste of the baking powder. Maybe I didn't whisk the dry ingredients well enough? The loaf baked nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Perfect! The combination of flavors and texture of the bread was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
It was very wet before I baked it. It wasn't done in the prescribed time, I am bakng longer. What could be wrong? It has been in an additional 30 minutes. Still very wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I needed a quick bread something to go with beef stew and decided to try a half recipe of this. It was very quick and easy and I love the onion flavor. I didn't have cheddar and had to use a milder cheese which was still good but I'll get cheddar for next time. I baked at 400 (convection) and it probably could have used another minute. I was worried it would be dry looking at some of the photos but it was not at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This reminds me of Chedder Bay biscuits. It was flavorful and was moist even the next day. This one is a keeper for sure. next time I may add a little garlic just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
INCREDIBLE!! Now, I did make a few very minor changes because of what I had in the house, like using all purpose flour. I used dried white / green onions, I doubled the baking powder, and I used about 3/4 c. milk with vinegar in it to sour it. But all those substitutions are basic and should not change the flavor or texture much. This bread is AWESOME. It came together so easily! Puffed right up, took 5 minutes to throw together, and baked while I made dinner. Everyone loved it. I love that it uses things I normally have in the house and is so quick and easy, not to mention delicious. A winner for sure! I let my dough sit for 5 minutes on the tray before baking to help it rise, I don't know know if that makes a difference but it can't hurt. Definitely try this. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States