Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written and found it to be really tasteless. The time it took to prepare was greater than the 15 minutes suggested and, though it smelled wonderful as it baked, it tasted awful.....dry and unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This is delicious, but not really soda bread. More like a giant yummy biscuit. Excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
this is very tasty, I had to add just a wee bit more buttermilk and put it in the oven for about 5 extra min. yummo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I guess I'm just not a fan of soda bread because this didn't suit me at all. On the other hand, my husband thought this was the best soda bead he's ever tasted (but he obviously likes soda bread much more than I do). If you are a fan, give this recipe a try. If I were, I'm sure I'd agree with my hubs. While a perfectly fine soda bread recipe, this just wasn't for us. Thanks anyways, Keri! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was absolutely fantastic! Made this along with corned beef and cabbage for St Paddy's day dinner, for a group of 13, including six children. The two loaves were the first things gone. As I had no cheddar on hand I sub'ed Jalapeno Jack. Seriously the easiest bread to make. I threw everything into the Kitchenaid, then shaped and baked. Definitely keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was my first time trying any type of soda bread and I really enjoyed it. I did have to add more buttermilk as other reviewers have mentioned but that wasn't a big deal. I did feel that this was a bit bland and while I would make it again I would increase the amount of onion (I used green onions) and cheddar, I might even add something extra like some sun dried tomotoes. Overall it was pretty good; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this on St Patrick's Day since no one in the family likes regular soda bread. This was a hit with everyone! Iused regular flour since I didn't have cake flour and it was fine. Next time I may add a little more milk, onion & cheese since it was slightly dry. I also may take someone else's suggestion & try green onion. We are now soda bread fans(at least this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved this! Easy to make, tasty, great with soup! Best warm from the oven, of course, but sliced and toasted with butter the next day is wonderful, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We ate both loaves in one day. I followed the recipe except for adding a 2.5 oz. bag of real bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
followed the receipe as written and found it to be very dry.had to add about another cup of buttermilk and then it came out quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States