Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
made this for the recipe group, it was good. I used a sweet onion and kept my tweaking under control. I made as is the first time, but from now on I will enjoy playing with this recipe. I needed to add a little extra milk to the recipe (I made exact amount with lemon juice and milk). Measuring tbls of butter is finicky. Served this with an invented soup, the family enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious!! Very easy to make and very tasty!! Thought it might be extra good if you added some crumbled bacon!! It was a HIT!!! Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
1st time making soda bread and glad this was my 1st. It turned out fantastic. i didnt use the onion because I knew the kids wouldnt eat it so i doubled the cheese. I used an Irish cheddar cheese. Will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly & mine was terrible? Not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
To the posters who question no soda in this recipe -- baking powder has soda IN it. Check the label. Will be making this tomorrow. : ) ********************************* Mar 18th : Great flavor! I also used green onions but halved the recipe to make just one loaf. Baked 25 minutes, as my oven always takes less time. I think I'll try AP flour next time, as the reviews support the exchange. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Made this for RECIPE GROUP. We LOVED it! I made half the recipe using all purpose flour, which seemed to work just fine. As others, I also used green onions. I was concerned that the confectioners’ sugar might not mix in completely, so I added it to the dry ingredients. After reading some of the reviews, I was going to add more buttermilk, but I didn’t remember until my dough was already rolled into a ball. :~) Mine baked in exactly 30 minutes and I brushed it with melted butter when it came out of the oven. I’m really anxious to try some toasted! Thanks Keri and Jim! I'll definitely be making this again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe, so easy and fast. I used a tablesoon of fresh dill weed instead of union. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greene, New York, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this for the Recipe Group: 12, March '11. This bread is AMAZING, and I'm not a big fan of bread. In fact, we had never tasted a soda bread. I am very intimidated by yeast so was very happy this is made without yeast. The onion flavor just pops in this bread. I used, green onion, yellow onion, and purple onion because I didn't have enough of any one kind. I would make it this way again next time. The cheese flavor is the added bonus. Thank you Keri for sharing this recipe. It quickly has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This bread is excellent. The texture is very nice, similar to that of a biscuit. I had some green onions on hand so decided to try those, it gave the bread great color & flavor. The onion flavor is very strong, which I like, but for those who don't love onion, I bet it would be great without as well. I also used A/P flour, since I was out of bread flour. I plan on making this many times, I really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this for a lunch for my friends birthday and everyone loved it!!!!! We had it with soup and salad. Everyone thought I was so talented until I told them how easy it was. Thanks for the great recipe. I'll make it again for St. Pattys day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States