Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Though it's not a traditional Irish soda bread recipe, this ended up being my favorite soda bread recipe. I have tried 3 or so Irish soda bread recipes in the past but never found any of them to be interesting enough to try making them again. Not this one!! I used Irish sharp cheddar cheese and fresh onions to make the bread and we just loved it. I will definitely make them again, maybe adding fresh herbs next time like chives or dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I used green onions and did the ole vinegar in the milk thing for buttermilk. I didn't make enough of the buttermilk, so I had to add a little extra plain milk to get the dough consistency right. Still, it turned out very well. I made biscuits and they took twenty minutes. I had company for dinner and these biscuits stole the show! Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe, Keri and Jim! *UPDATE* I just realized that I made a lucky mistake when making this bread. I added a cup each of the cheese and the onion rather than the suggested 3/4 cup each. It wasn't intentional this time, but it will be next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
The flavor is great, but user error prevented this from being superb for us. As an inexperienced bread maker, I misread the ingredients. I saw "bread flour" and thought, "Oh, I've got that." I actually had CAKE flour...the only other flour I had was white whole wheat flour, so I used that. After 30 minutes, it was still raw in the middle, so I cooked it about 10 more minutes and we ate the outsides of it with supper. I think they would have cooked better as biscuits and I'll try that next time, along with the correct flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Thanks to Keri and to Jim for sharing a great recipe. Made for the recipe group/ for family dinner on St. Patrick's day. Used a chopped red onion as that's what was available. House smelled wonderful while the oven was baking, family really enjoyed the levels of flavor. Kids don't care for onion, but really liked the flavor in these biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I was intrigued to try this soda bread --without any soda! It tastes fantastic (I'm an onion lover!) Mine came out quite dense, which I wasn't expecting. I think since it behaves so much like drop biscuit dough, I was expecting a light fluffy drop biscuit texture (think Bisquick biscuits) but I got something a lot more sturdy. Mine had to wait about 4 hours before getting eaten -- so it was cold -- and it STILL filled the house with an oniony aroma when I cut into it (which I liked!). I added 1/2 tsp. caraway seeds because I love them (and because they're so good with Cheddar and onions). You may (or may not) need about 2-4 more tablespoons of buttermilk to make your dough come together properly. Thank you for sharing, Keri, and thanks Jim, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this bread today (03/17/11) for our St. Paddy's Day pot luck dinner...Couldn't wait til dinner to try it so I let it cool for a few minutes then cut a slice...YUMMMMMY...it smells very good while cooking and taste just a good! Thank you for begging for it and Thank Jim too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
The bread texture itself is ok. It needs to be toasted to not be so doughy. It needs something in the flavor department. Perhaps a touch of salt or perhaps the onions needed to be caramelized before putting them in the dough. It should be ok once its toasted and very liberally spread with salted butter. All in all I think I need to play with this recipe a bit perhaps add some caraway seeds and other flavorants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Made this today to go with corned beef and cabbage. I have never had soda bread before and was anxious to try it. I invited my son over for lunch. He was hesitant to try it, but after our meal, he asked to take a plate home for dinner tonight and said to be sure and put 2-3 slices on his "to go" plate, and he's really not much of a bread eater. That tells me I will be making this again often. I also used green onions for the color. Thanks for the post--it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
made this for the recipe group, it was good. I used a sweet onion and kept my tweaking under control. I made as is the first time, but from now on I will enjoy playing with this recipe. I needed to add a little extra milk to the recipe (I made exact amount with lemon juice and milk). Measuring tbls of butter is finicky. Served this with an invented soup, the family enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious!! Very easy to make and very tasty!! Thought it might be extra good if you added some crumbled bacon!! It was a HIT!!! Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911boxer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States