Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
The smell of this bread is amazing and makes for a great side to Corned Beef and Cabbage. I did the first batch and wasn't very impressed. So on the second round I added green onions finely chopped and some fresh dill along with a cup of cheddar cheese. I also added more buttermilk than called for and it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very tasty. This was my first time making soda bread. I wish I had flattened the dough to more like 1 inch thick than 2, because I had a trouble getting the dough cooked in the middle. It took about 10-15 minutes longer than the recipe stated. I don't think all of my kids were crazy about the onion flavor, so next time I will try increasing the cheddar and omitting or lessening the onion. Also, my dough was very dry, so I needed to add 1/4 - 1/2 cup more buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made this to go with our St. Pattys day feast. I followed the recipe to the T but did have to use some extra buttermilk to pull it all together. It smelled soooo good cooking! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
There is a reason for all the rave reviews. This bread was fantastic! I made it for St. Patty's with our corned beef and cabbage dinner, but this will be made throughout the year for sure. Thank you Keri and Jim for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This bread deserves more than 5 stars! I have never made or had soda bread before, but I have to tell you I don't ever plan on making it another way. This has to be one of the best tasting breads I have ever had. It was extremely easy and fast to make. I did use AP flour, because I was too lazy to take out the bread flour, but I will next time to see if there is a difference. And I also used green onions, but I may try adding a sweet onion too next time. As for the buttermilk, I did have to had a bit more, but not much. This is a definite keeper that will be made frequently in my house. Next time I'm going to try it as biscuits. Thanks Keri for sharing an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by kchris
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious! I used regular AP flour and added a bit more buttermilk, and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kchris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was so good! My dad said it tasted like pierogi bread. Everyone really liked this bread! The only change I made was to use green onion. I liked the green onion flavor better and thought it made it look prettier with the green flecks in it that kinda looked like herbs. Will definitely be making this again as it was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
What a bonus this turned out to be. First off, it's the recipe group selection, and St Patrick's Day bread of choice. So, being out of buttermilk the quick fix of course is the milk/lemon juice trick, but I decided I wanted more. I also added about 1/4 C of plain yogurt to the soured milk to give it that thickness and sourness of real buttermilk. The addition also took care of the extra milk other reviewers said it needed. It was perfect. I wondered why the addition of the powdered sugar? I didn't add it and we didn't miss it. Cheese was a combo of both sharp white cheddar and Tillamook cheddar. I used an entire bunch of green onions instead of a yellow also. Thank you Jim for sharing this recipe. It was wonderfully easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very tasty. Great texture. Served with Irish Stew and potatoes for St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Hubs said he'd rather have this than dessert. I used green onions and sharp cheddar. Baked exactly 30 minutes. Served with Herb Butter from this site per Jillian's suggestion. Thanks Keri for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States