Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Recipe Group****This was delicious! I did use green onions, next time I'll use the regular onion. Just wanted the green for St. Patrick's Day. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used onion powder, because I didn't have the onion. And I figured my kids wouldn't like the pieces of onion in the bread. I increased the cheese to 1 cup. I cut cold butter into the bread and then stirred in the cheese and lastly added the milk. Definitely flatten to about an inch and then cut a big "x" in the top so it will split and look pretty when it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made this for the Recipe Group this week. It was delicious! I did find I needed to add about another 1/3 cup of buttermilk to get my dough to hold together well. I used yellow onion which had a nice flavor. A keeper for sure- thanks Keri and Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was wonderful and a big hit with my corned beef and cabbage. I will be making this often!! Thanks Keri:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
The smell of this bread is amazing and makes for a great side to Corned Beef and Cabbage. I did the first batch and wasn't very impressed. So on the second round I added green onions finely chopped and some fresh dill along with a cup of cheddar cheese. I also added more buttermilk than called for and it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very tasty. This was my first time making soda bread. I wish I had flattened the dough to more like 1 inch thick than 2, because I had a trouble getting the dough cooked in the middle. It took about 10-15 minutes longer than the recipe stated. I don't think all of my kids were crazy about the onion flavor, so next time I will try increasing the cheddar and omitting or lessening the onion. Also, my dough was very dry, so I needed to add 1/4 - 1/2 cup more buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made this to go with our St. Pattys day feast. I followed the recipe to the T but did have to use some extra buttermilk to pull it all together. It smelled soooo good cooking! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
There is a reason for all the rave reviews. This bread was fantastic! I made it for St. Patty's with our corned beef and cabbage dinner, but this will be made throughout the year for sure. Thank you Keri and Jim for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This bread deserves more than 5 stars! I have never made or had soda bread before, but I have to tell you I don't ever plan on making it another way. This has to be one of the best tasting breads I have ever had. It was extremely easy and fast to make. I did use AP flour, because I was too lazy to take out the bread flour, but I will next time to see if there is a difference. And I also used green onions, but I may try adding a sweet onion too next time. As for the buttermilk, I did have to had a bit more, but not much. This is a definite keeper that will be made frequently in my house. Next time I'm going to try it as biscuits. Thanks Keri for sharing an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by kchris
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious! I used regular AP flour and added a bit more buttermilk, and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kchris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States