Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I made this as directed, pretty much exactly. I used 1 yellow onion (about 1 cup after my food processer pureed it :P) and 1 cup medium cheddar cheese. I had only 1 cup of buttermilk so I used the milk/lemon juice method to make another cup. I ended up using a total of 1 and 3/4 cups to get my dough to come together. However, since my onion ended up basically pureed it added a lot of liquid to the dough once I added it, which made me a little worried. However, it came out better than fine. :) Delicious flavor, especially when hot. I baked for 30 minutes and it was nice and brown on top, though slightly doughy in the center. Next time I'll cook a little longer, maybe putting foil over the top as another reviewer mentioned. My husband says this is his favorite bread of any that I've made, and I've made quite a few. And the fact that this is yeast-less and super easy makes this a new go-to bread recipe for us. I look forward to trying out new flavor combos with this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Awesome, I used what I had on hand. All purpose flour, regular onions and milk with lemon juice(in place of buttermilk). Turned out great, cannot wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Really good flavor. I used green onion and med. sharp cheddar. I wondered about the confectioners sugar, but it was just the right amount and complemented the savory. I wanted mine to be a loaf shape and the dough was a little stiff, so I added more buttermilk and put in loaf pan. It came out perfect. It may have been a finer crumb than this recipe, but it was great!! Thanks for the recipe. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Was good, needs less onions or to use green onions. Used sharp cheddar cheese and that was really good. Needs to cook about 33 min on convection 325F. Is ok but not fasntastic, although its a good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Fantastic flavor and so easy to prepare. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
YUMMM....My dh can't get enough.I made my first batch with ap flour and my second with bread flour. It does make a diffrence. Next time i am going to add a little jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley85r

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Shouldn't soda bread have baking soda in it? The flavor was fantastic but this is not soda bread. I also omitted the sugar-it was an accident but I won't bother with it in the future either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yummy bread! I used AP flour, 1/3 C green onions, and diced the cheese instead of grating it so there were little cheesy pockets. Like others, I had to add 1/4 cup additional buttermilk so the dough would hold together. Because it was St. Patrick's Day, I added 15 drops of green food coloring to the buttermilk so my bread was very festive. I told my family it was Leprechaun Bread with Gold Nuggets :D The color was understandably a bit off putting, but perfect for the day and the flavor and texture were great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made this for Recipe Group just in time for St. Patrick's Day. Like others, I also used green onions and needed just a little more buttermilk for everything to bind together well. Next time, I will mash the dough flatter since it wasn't done in the middle yet the top was nicely browned. I put it back in the oven and tented it with foil to keep it from getting too brown. It all worked out in the end, and I loved the rustic, hard, crunchy crust. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States