Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is only the second soda bread recipe I've tried. I used 1 tsp. of baking soda and 3 tsp. of baking powder which made a similar proportion of baking soda/powder to the other soda bread I'd made before. I added 1/4 c. additional buttermilk. This quick to make savory bread goes well with Tomato Bisque II soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
It was okay. I'll make cheese biscuits next time instead of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Reeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I was a bit confused the second time I made this. The first time I added 1 T baking soda because soda was on my mind. Came out great! I didn't notice at the time it called for baking powder not soda powder. So the second time I just added the baking powder and no soda and it was not nearly as good. It wasn't done when the 30 min. was up so I had to put it back in for 10 min. I'm curious if the soda was just left out of the recipe. Next time I think I will use both like many of the other soda breads call for. I put corrindar seeds and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Simple and delicious; this recipe is a winner. Didn't change a thing and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Amazing! This turned out SO good. I too used "green onion" (scallions), because we love these, and this turned out really good. I followed recipe exactly, but for some reason my dough was really dry, and wouldn't "stick" I had to add about 1/4C more of buttermilk - but I could have added too much flour, so that was my fault. Came out perfect anyways! Love it Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Have made many soda bread recipes over the years. This one is wonderful. I made it according to recipe and didn't change anything. Reheated second loaf in oven next day wrapped in foil and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
We loved this bread! I chopped the onions really really small so the kids wouldn't notice them and added a little extra cheese. I also had to add almost a cup more of buttermilk. So delicious and so perfect with our corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
First of all, for those reviewers wondering where the "soda" is, it's in the baking powder. ;-) Secondly, this bread was so quick and amazing! I even forgot to put in the vidalia onion, green onion, and cheese! I was too busy multi-tasking. I cannot wait to make this with those ingredients in it. I think I'll mix it up with other additions, too. I did realize I forgot the "flavoring", so I put an egg wash on the top of the loaves, then made them like "everything bagels" - garlic powder, onion flakes, sesame seeds, & poppy seeds. I used white whole wheat flour and next time I'll add some flax meal. I cannot wait to taste the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T and didn't enjoy it at all. Looked like a cheddar bay biscuit on steroids. Flavor was very bland. Guess soda bread isn't my fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Best soda bread I have had. Because my kids don't like raisins, I look for other ways to "jazz" up soda bread. Cheddar and onions were a great way to do just that. I did use green onions as did some others. The bread had great flavor and was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States