Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoryAmara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Maybe it's me getting used to my convection oven, but the bread never cooked through. It was doughy. I tried cooking it longer, but the outside hardened and it was impossible to eat. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nackawic, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
A M A Z I N G ! My kids now request "Jim's Bread". I heard my 12 yr old explaining that he didn't know who Jim was, but his bread is really good! The onions have to be minced and you can have bread on the table (2 large loaves) inside of an hour. Not messy and so so good! My Kitchen Aid Mixer and the dough hook rock this! I have made this with fresh basil and sun dried tomatoes and roasted and chopped garlic. The original recipe is still the best. Going to make it as pizza crust and spread it out super thin! SO SO GREAT! Thanks for the recipe! I have made it once a week since I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Awesome bread... this turned out amazing... I can think of so many things I could do with this recipe... I might try jalapeno peppers... chives... garlic.. and so many other options with this great soda bread recipe... will definately make again as is and maybe try playing with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I’m not a big fan of bread (eating or cooking), but I love cheese, so I thought I’d give this a try as it looked easy. Gosh, am I ever glad that I did; it was DELICIOUS. I did use fresh chives instead of onion since I had loads growing in the garden; plus, I think chives and cheese are a natural together. Only bad thing about this recipe is that it’s so good I’ll have to avoid the scales as I’m craving more, but next time I’m going to make it into biscuits instead of a loaf. As a note, I also had to add a bit more buttermilk and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clonsilla, County Dublin, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is only the second soda bread recipe I've tried. I used 1 tsp. of baking soda and 3 tsp. of baking powder which made a similar proportion of baking soda/powder to the other soda bread I'd made before. I added 1/4 c. additional buttermilk. This quick to make savory bread goes well with Tomato Bisque II soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
It was okay. I'll make cheese biscuits next time instead of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Reeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I was a bit confused the second time I made this. The first time I added 1 T baking soda because soda was on my mind. Came out great! I didn't notice at the time it called for baking powder not soda powder. So the second time I just added the baking powder and no soda and it was not nearly as good. It wasn't done when the 30 min. was up so I had to put it back in for 10 min. I'm curious if the soda was just left out of the recipe. Next time I think I will use both like many of the other soda breads call for. I put corrindar seeds and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Simple and delicious; this recipe is a winner. Didn't change a thing and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Amazing! This turned out SO good. I too used "green onion" (scallions), because we love these, and this turned out really good. I followed recipe exactly, but for some reason my dough was really dry, and wouldn't "stick" I had to add about 1/4C more of buttermilk - but I could have added too much flour, so that was my fault. Came out perfect anyways! Love it Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States