Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This bread was fun and simple to make. I give it four stars because it was heavy and biscuit-like, which I hadn't realized, and I'm not all that fond of biscuits. Then again, the heaviness could have been a result of the fact that I used melted butter and olive oil in place of softened, and all-purpose flour instead of bread flour. Even so, my boyfriend liked it well enough and went back for seconds, so I think if you are a fan of biscuit-type bread then this loaf would be a nice variation on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was great bread! I did have to add extra buttermilk to make this come together. It was delicious and I'll definitely make it again. I used green onions as other reviewers had suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was my first time eating and making soda bread, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I did not have to add additional buttermilk as many others have mentioned. I followed the recipe to the "T" and it came out very nice. We particularly like the outer crust of the bread. Thanks for sharing your friend's great recipe, Keri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
well, i had to do a bit of improvising, but this was one good quick bread. i used dried onion flakes, and milk/lemon juice for the buttermilk. this was delicious, and i will most certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is the quickest, most delicious bread I have ever had. For me it doesn't rise as much as it probably should, but even so, the flavors are exquisite. We usually have to cut the recipe in half and make one loaf so we don't overeat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Delicious! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
this is a great bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leroy13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Delish!! All the way around. The ease of this recipe was great! The flavor popped on the crust with the flavoring on onions. My husband doesn't like raw crunchy onions but went back several times to get some of this bread. I followed the recipe to a T but used green onions to play off of others before me that used them for contrast and to pop, it soo did and I had such a beautiful loaf of bread, Speaking with the submitter. She helped me decide to take the 2nd part of the batch and make biscuit style rolls or drop style biscuits for something I was wanting. The 1st half I followed to putting it on parchment and patting it down but scoring it with a long knife into 6 pieces and letting it bake and the other half made about 13 biscuits. They went fast. I pulled the biscuits out at about 20-24 minutes and they quickly got buttered and eaten. The bigger loaf I left in and brushed butter on top to get that nice beautiful golden color...and it was devine and delish. The flavors between the cheese and the onion totally paired very well in this. I wouldn't change a thing about the over all bread. But I sure can see making this wonderful bread with other ingredients. This is an excellent bread on a side of soup/stew as well as some Colcannon. Thanks so much Keri, it's a surefire keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
LOVED this!! Made this yesterday for our Fathers day dinner! Everyone LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is a great recipe. Very similar to my grandmothers drop biscuits. Everyone loved it. It was a little to sweet for my taste with both the onions and sugar. so next time I will omit the sugar. But I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States