Jim's Cheddar Onion Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I used vinegar and almond milk for the buttermilk and I used a bunch of green onion. I've made this three years now - and Mom looks forward to it on St Patrick's Day! She likes to use it with leftover corned beef and mustard to make a sandwich (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmwood1012
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
What a great, and easy bread. I made it just as it was only added some scallions for color. It's a dense bread, but very moist and flavorful. And it came out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was SUPER easy to make and went perfectly with the "Chef John's Irish Beef Stew" I made for St. Paddy's day last night. A nice dense rustic bread great for any soup, stew or even chili! I sauteed the onions and added crispy bits of bacon I had leftover. I didn't have buttermilk so used the milk/lemon juice substitute adding about 1/4 cup extra as some suggested (may add a little more next time). I also didn't have parchment paper so I used aluminum foil dusted w/ flour. I skipped the dusting on top of the loaves and instead brushed the tops with melted butter. I like that you score with an X before baking because it breaks off nicely into big chunks (no cutting required). Next time I may try it with green onions and score the loaves before baking into smaller pieces or make individual biscuits. :o] *~* the milk/lemon juice substitute is: 1C regular milk with 1 tbsp lemon juice, let it sit for 10 mins before adding - adjust as necessary for your recipe, so I did 1 1/2 C milk with 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice for this recipe *~*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This bread was easy and delish! The second time I made it I added 3 strips of crumbled bacon to one of the loaves and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Not one of my favorite breads. Don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill & Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
We *really really* enjoyed this! Halved recipe - used green onions - also had to add extra milk (scant 3/4 cup for half recipe). Note to myself: Next time, don't be afraid to pat down to 2 inches as directed - I was a little concerned it wouldn't rise much, so I left mine at probably 3 1/2" or so and sure nuff: It was HUGE! sliced cross in top which gave it much needed spread - nix the dry flour on top and try a butter/garlic topping instead. Thanks so much for recipe - will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Loved this!! Has a biscuit-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Went perfectly with my Irish stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Loved this bread. Very quick and easy to prepare and tastes even better the second day. I froze one loaf for later since there are just two of us at home. I used green onions, chopped fine which gave the bread a nice flavor. This is a recipe I will make again. Speed, ease, flavor, this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe as written and made the optional biscuit version. We all liked them and I will make again. I think these would be great for any kind of BBQ food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States