Jimmy's Mexican Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Made this on superbowl sunday and it was a hit. Substituted the slasa for green chili and it was awesome. My suggestion would be to use some black olives, and yellow bell peppers on top. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I made this for my boyfriend, and he really enjoyed it. He asked that I rate it 4 stars, stating that "Four stars IS good!" I hate to be THAT person who changes the recipe up, but I did a tad. First off I used ground turkey, and added a little extra salt. I also fried my flour tortillas quickly in bacon grease I had in a cast iron skillet on the stove before putting them onto a baking sheet. I then layered the beans, meat, salsa, cheese, tomatoes, green onions, and jalapeños on top without an additional tortilla, as I was trying to save a little on carbs. I put a dollop of sour cream into a ziplock baggie, cut off the tip, and piped the cream onto the top in the shape of a heart. Yep, I'm a cheese-ball. He thought it was cute though. Served it with a beer and it was a hit. It was also extremely easy and kid-friendly (if you make sure you make it mild), so if _I_ were to choose a rating, I'd probably boost it up to 5 stars for moms out there. I'll definitely make again. Thanks, Jimmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Corsaut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Spices made the meat way too dry. Needed cheese in the middle to help hold it together. Don't try to crisp the tortillas first, end result will be a tostada. Very messy to eat. This reminded me of a taco enchilada casserole. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Adcock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Oh my gosh. Yum YUM!! My husband and I loved these! The only thing I did differently was add cheese to the inside of the pizzas and they were delicious. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
It wasn't bad but it was not at all like a pizza. The recipe could definitely be improved by adding a little cheese with the meat when it goes into the oven the second time so the bottoms and tops meld together more cohesively. I'd lose the paprika, reduce the cumin some (too dominant a flavor), reduce the chili powder some, too. Also, replace the salsa with some homemade pico de gallo, and finally, forget the green onion, garnish with cilantro and finally chopped serrano peppers(optional). Oh, and increase the oven heat to 450 for the last ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
To the person who said this had no relation to pizza..... it is Mexican -- Mexican pizza's have these ingredients. Can't imagine how that could be confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Was delicious and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I made this tonight and we really enjoyed it. I stuck to the recipe, except I had an extra tortilla, extra beans, and extra salsa, so I just added another layer. It was more like Mexican lasagna because it was so thick. One piece was plenty for each of us and there is more for tomorrow night if it isn't too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great recipe... however, I and most of the western US and probably all of Mexico would call this a 'Quesadilla'... maybe a New Mexican Pizza - because all of New Mexico uses ground beef in their recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Schumacher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Mexican Casserole

Quick and easy dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican f

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States