Jimmy's Mexican Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Does anyone have any suggestions to replace the refried beans? We all hate beans of any kind, cooked in any way. What can I use as a spread instead of refried beans? I've googled this but most just suggest a different type of bean. Beans? Yuck. This looks so good but I need a refried bean replacement. Thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Ok I blew it and used 7 inch tortillas so we ate with a fork. I did cook the tortillas in the oven first - 3 minutes each side and bumped the ground beef to 3/4 pounds - bumped the seasoning accordingly. Mixed 3/4 of the can of beans into the cooked ground beef to skip the first step. Just spread the warm meat mixture on the prebaked tortillas and added the toppings and baked! The seasoning is perfect (please don't use taco seasoning out of a packet!) and can't wait to make them on 10 inch tortillas so they will be thinner! Hubby loves them and they will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natasha
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was so good; my husband loved it! I did add 1 pound of hamburger instead of a 1/2 pound, just made it more hearty, still had a strong flavor with the original measurements of spices :) I really liked having the fresh veggies on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Too many beans but modified, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This turned out great and only because of the suggestions of everyone on here. The best thing I did that made this recipe great per suggestions was brush the tortillas with olive oil and stick them in the oven for approx 5-6 minutes at 400 degrees to crisp the tortillas. I also sauteed the onion and 2 (instead of 1) cloves of garlic. I did all the seasonings the recipe asked for and did everything else per recipe. The family really enjoyed it. I would definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe needs more love! It is such a great change up for our weekly "taco" night. My husband LOVES the Taco Bell pizza, and my kids will actually eat this, so it's a win all the way around. It is super easy and it doesn't use a lot of expensive ingredients, so it's affordable to feed our crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Outstanding! Ha Taco Bell who?!?! Will definitely make it again. Only difference was I hardened the tortillas in the oven first and didn't measure any of the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Good, but does not serve 8 unless you aren't very hungry! More like 4 (each person gets 1/2 of a "quesadilla")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Made this last night! My guys loved it! My husband even took the left overs in his lunch this morning. Will surely make this again! Thanks Jimmy, made for a great family dinner night :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I really liked this recipe! The only thing I changed was the salsa and I added 2 tortillas (whole wheat healthy kind) on top and bottom. Also instead of regular salsa I toped it with black beans and corn salsa (recipe is on here too) ! So fab !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States