Jimmy Dean Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Yummy, yummy my four year old daughter loves these. We make these instead of pancakes and dip into maple syrup. A few things I do, first we use onion powder instead of onions, omit the celery. I also let the cheese sit at room temp. as it makes it easier to knead into the sausage. I also use a broiler pan that has slots on the top. So the grease runs down into the bottom pan. Instead of sitting on cookie sheet. It cuts don on the grease and the clean-up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVAGEFREEDOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Other versions recommend 2 c Bisquick. I started with 1 1/2 cups and added a bit more. Next time I will use a scant 2 cups. Be careful you keep these at 1" balls. Freeze easily. Then thaw them 5 minutes (not 15) and bake them for 18-20 minutes (not 20-25) so they won't be dry. Everyone really liked these, and the mild flavor was good for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Between the two sausage ball recipes I tried today, this one suits my taste the best. The addition of the onion and the celery is what makes these stand out from your usual sausage balls. I don't think I have ever eaten any made with onion and celery before, and in my quest to be a little different, I think this will be my new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is the BEST recipe for sausage balls!! If you like a spicier version get the HOT Jimmy Dean sausage and look for the Zesty Sausage Cheese Ball recipe on the back of that package. They are the BOMB!!! Beware though.....if you're the type that likes to have a few leftovers at the ned of the party....do not make these....as there wil be no leftovers with this recipe. Also....do use Jimmy Dean sausage as there is very little waste with their brand...and they turn out perfect everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IPlayOutsideTheBox

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Well, personally these were not my favorite. Not what I was looking for. They were VERY moist and almost sweet. They weren't bad tasteing. I would've liked a sausage cheese ball with more HEAT. They were very greesy (but it is sausage after all). If you are looking for something a little different, these are for you. I guess I wanted something a little hotter and more bread like. To be fair, I did use mild store brand sausage. I bet if I went with a different brand in hot instead of mild it would make these better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heflin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Excellent- we really liked them. Made them the day before the party and froze, then thawed 15 minutes before baking. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is the first time I have made sausage balls and they were a hit... I followed the recipe exact and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I served these last night at a party and they were a big hit! They were gobbled up immediately. I did not change the recipe at all. They were awesome! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I've made these several times and they have always been a hit. The first time I followed the directions exactly and they were perfect. To improve on perfection (???) I halved the pepper (wife was the only one to say they were too spicy so why modify the recipe for her? Duh!); and used a broiler tray to reduce the fat in the balls. They still tasted great to me (and also to my wife). Fun to make and something the grandkids could help with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roylg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Holy Cow!! The best sausage balls ever!! my family has made sausage balls every holiday season since the beginning of sausage! I can remember sitting and mixing with my hands when I was little! These are the best.. I've had them too dry, too greasy, you name it.. but if your a sausage ball lover this is the recipe.. Never had I had them or made them with onion and celery.. I used hot sausage to give plenty of flavor.. I wanted to spread the celery and onion love and used my mini-processor to finely mice them.. instead of the 2 teas. garlic I used 1 teaspoon of garlic salt and 1 teas. of reg salt.. Used low carb bake mix(carbquik) -- This make these very low-carb.. Yum.. hot or cold grab and go goodness.. For all who are first0time sausage ballers- Yes they are greasy- hey you got 2# of sausage and a # of cheese. what do you think?? drain on paper towels out of oven.. Make sure your baking sheet has sides.... Yes they are stiff to mix.. Put all your ingredients in a bowl and let come to room temp.. These are almost impossible to mix with a spoon.. so... Wash those hands and take off those rings and dig in!! Never tried it but maybe a good processor would do the job... Gonna make some more today... Like I said with the low carb mix these guys are awesome for snacks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States