Jimmy Dean Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Other versions recommend 2 c Bisquick. I started with 1 1/2 cups and added a bit more. Next time I will use a scant 2 cups. Be careful you keep these at 1" balls. Freeze easily. Then thaw them 5 minutes (not 15) and bake them for 18-20 minutes (not 20-25) so they won't be dry. Everyone really liked these, and the mild flavor was good for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These are perfect! The ease of making them even makes them better! I made some exactly as written and others without the celery and onion and both are awesome. I will always keep some of these in the freezer from now on. They are perfect for breakfast, appetizers or a snack anytime. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYDTHOMAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These were okay. They tasted better right out of the oven than later on at the buffet table. Also, they made a huge mess in my oven. They leaked a lot of grease, which spilled over onto the bottom of my oven and made me have to clean my oven before I resumed baking again. I think it might have been because I did not use the Jimmy Dean brand of sausage? So be careful of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I have made these a number of times and they have been a hit. It is not for health-conscious people or those watching their caloric intake! I have used both Jimmy Dean and off brands of sausages with no difference in taste noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Unfortunately, I used a baking sheet with no edges and grease got all over my oven. These were extremely greasy and too meaty tasting--not cheesy enough. I was overall very disappointed with how they turned out. Also, they stuck to the pan very badly so they had no bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I left out the onion and celery since my family does not like these in recipes. I added a few dashes of hot sauce, and I also used Smithfield's ham sausage, which is less greasy than regular sausage. I make these and serve them with mustard. None are ever left over to freeze for later ! Great party or snack food for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Excellent- we really liked them. Made them the day before the party and froze, then thawed 15 minutes before baking. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Yummy, yummy my four year old daughter loves these. We make these instead of pancakes and dip into maple syrup. A few things I do, first we use onion powder instead of onions, omit the celery. I also let the cheese sit at room temp. as it makes it easier to knead into the sausage. I also use a broiler pan that has slots on the top. So the grease runs down into the bottom pan. Instead of sitting on cookie sheet. It cuts don on the grease and the clean-up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVAGEFREEDOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is the first time I have made sausage balls and they were a hit... I followed the recipe exact and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I make these at Thanksgiving and Christmas and I never have any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VANESSA5188

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States