Jimmy Dean Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made for a group breakfast, and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I use a bag of Southwestern Style Hasbrowns instead of bread, and there is no need to add anything other than the sausage (I use hot), eggs, milk and cheese. Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
without including the 'optional' mushrooms, tomatoes, & green onions, this is a pretty standard breakfast casserole (although with 10eggs & 3cups of milk & 6cups torn bread, it will BARELY fit in a 9x13x2 dish -- set your dish on a cookie sheet in case it 'runs over' in your oven, as mine did!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Made this for my family tonight and it tasted amazing! I baked mine exactly how the recipe said but I think next time I will use more egg and less milk. The center of the casserole was very gooey so I had to throw it back in the oven for another 15-20min. Aside from that it looked and tasted great! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Delicious - made it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I did have to cook the dish a bit longer then directed, other then that I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Marine
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Absolutely perfect! I made it 2 ways, one for a work function and one for us to eat (low fat). They both were fantastic. For my low fat version I used Egg Beaters and skim milk, 2% cheese. For the one I took to work this morning I used the full fat versions. It was a HIT with my team! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had several left over rolls that were hardened through and through. I was determined to use them instead of throwing out and came upon this recipe. It worked great and was delicious for a New Years breakfast. There were several other improvisions to accomodate what I had on hand. I used 2 packages (10 links each) breakfast sausage links, heated and sliced; 5 slices swiss cheese, shredded pepper jack cheese and grated Parmesean cheese instead of cheddar cheese; added fresh diced mushrooms, green pepper, and onion; the bread amount was slightly more than 6 cups, so I threw in an exta egg but left milk amount alone; used 1-1/2 cup milk and 1-1/2 cup half-and-half. After cooking full 60 minutes in stoneware the consistency was perfect. Maybe using very dry bread helped soak up the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this for breakfast on Christmas and halved the recipe since it's just 2 of us. It was okay. We ate it as well as the leftovers, but it won't be a repeat. The egg mixture so thoroughly soaked the bread that my husband didn't even realize there was any bread in it! The casserole did not taste soggy per se and it wasn't wet, it was just softer than we prefer and almost mushy. This recipe is worth repeating though with less milk (for a full recipe I would cut the milk down to 2 cups) and maybe cooked, diced potatoes instead of the bread. That sounds yummy! I'll bet the suggested additions of mushrooms, tomato, and green onion would be really good, especially if you saute the mushrooms first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Second time I have made it and just likethe first time turned out fantastic. Football Sunday brunch favorite at my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Frazier Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States