Jimmy Dean Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Great recipe! I cut it in half, used 4 cups hash browns instead of bread, added green pepper and jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKIEJIM01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This recipe turned out so good! I made it ahead of time, froze it, then let it thaw in the fridge before baking it. I used a whole dozen eggs, 2 cups milk, and 1 cup half and half. I served it for a brunch and my guests loved it! They ate all of it up, there were no leftovers at all. It was a huge hit. This is such a great recipe to make ahead of time if you are having guests and need a good dish to fill all of them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Made this for Christmas. Prepared it the night before and cooked it in the morning. It was delicious. One I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I always make this the night before and it is always wonderful. I think the people that are having trouble with the amount of liquid / cook time my not be measuring the bread crumbs. 6 cups is not 6 slices, it is 10 or more depending on your bread. You should not have to adjust the eggs or milk or the cook time. Don't be afraid of this one it is the best egg bake I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
12/26/07 update: we make this every year for Christmas morning. This year tried to freeze it on 12/23 due work schedule. It did not come out quite as well after freezing. It also added quite a bit of time to cooking, even after thawed, due to added fluid. Still awesome! First review in 2005: This was wonderful. I assembled a full 24 hours ahead of time and then baked and served on Christmas morning. I used a smaller pan, the oval Corning dish, as suggested by another reviewer. It was wonderful that way. I also put in oneless egg, per everyone's recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
this was not a hit at my house. It's Chritmas morning, and I think I should have made eggs and sausage seperately. Too much bread, had to cook an extra half an hour and it's still soggy inside...the kids sort of like it, my husband and I choked it down since we waited so long to eat. Next time...if I ever make it again I will use hash browns, or tater tots instead of the bread, I would also add more cheese and less milk (although I did already cut it down by half a cup). recipe isn't "terrible" but definately needs a little help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We made it exactly as it was written and it was amazing! The whole casserole was gone in one sitting! Everyone was asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babsfamily93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious! Easy to make and a hit with the whole family! I used spicy sausage the 2nd time I made it and it was so good! :) Thanks Jimmy Dean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I made this for a brunch baby shower and it was a hit. It’s much better than the traditional Christmas breakfast casserole I’ve made before. A couple of changes: I used maple-flavored sausage, cubed and toasted an entire French loaf of bread, upped the eggs to 15 and milk to 4 1/2 cups and omitted the tomatoes and replaced with red bell peppers. (I had quite a few to serve.) My casserole took a bit longer than the 60 minutes – just watch yours carefully, but it was hearty and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
A big hit at our beach breakfast! I did have to cook it for an additional 30 minutes for the eggs to set in the middle. I used mushrooms, red pepper and green pepper for the 'optional' veggies and sauteed some chopped onion with the sausage. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States