Jim Kaczmarek's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this about 2 years ago and my mother is dying for this recipe...I couldn't give it to her because it took me a while to find it...I invited my friends over to try it, and it didn't see the light of tomorrow...people were licking bowls, asking for seconds...thirds...leaving no leftovers...so i wrote the recipe down, but it was a craptastic version of the real thing. I went on a search for it and I found it!!! So, since I found it, it's my main dish for Thanksgiving this year...cooking as I post....the first time I used Yeungling...this year I'm trying Budweiser Black Crown...loooooooove this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was delicious! Eating this as I type. After reading the reviews and seeing complaints about saltiness (being sensitive to salt myself) I tried my best to use all low sodium ingredients, omitted the salt, and used just a couple of bouillon cubes instead of the four tablespoons of granules, as I didn't have any. I made the sauce (basically everything but the meat, onions, garlic, and beans) the night beforehand, adding a small can of tomato paste and four bay leaves instead of two. I think leaving the mixture in the fridge overnight helped everything mingle. The day of, I browned ground beef with half a large onion (I'm a lightweight when it comes to cutting onions) with garlic powder (as I didn't have cloves.) I drained the mix then poured everything (waiting on the beans, using black instead of pinto) into my crockpot for a few hours. I don't see where the complaints about spiciness come from. When I went to add the beans on the last leg of the recipe, it was still this side of bland- and I'm a total baby when it comes to spicy food! So I added a couple of shakes of all the spices used. Served with a dollop of sour cream, grated cheddar, and a handful of fritos! Next time will probably add another can of black beans, another can of tomato paste, and another half or full pound of meat, and perhaps some chives/green onion on top of the sour cream for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Absolutely a great savory experience. I never had a problem with the salt (taste as you go w/salt always). Othewise the ingredient proportions are spot-on, this is restaurant quality. If you throw in a few hot peppers, make sure that the stew sits overnight to mellow their fruity flavors otherwise it's a bit too sweet and funky. You won't believe what this tastes like the next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe. I added a few ingredients to it for a little something extra. I added a 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon and an ounce of semisweet baking chocolate. These ingredients are common in many Mexican dishes and were really a nice addition to the chili. I also added 1 1/2 tablespoons of hot sauce. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I really wished I had read the reviews before making this. It had way too much salt; even the salt loving husband said so. I used no salt added tomato sauce and that didn't help cut the salt factor at all. I think this would definitely be an amazing recipe if the TBSP of salt was omitted. I will make it again and maybe add a can of Rotel to kick it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have used this recipe for years and it is always a hit with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Wow!! This was amazing! I make this all the time for my husband to take to work. Those gus have it gone before 11am!! I will continue to make this over and over again! I leave out the salt and add some diced jalapenos. MMMMmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
The cooking time is way too long for me. This recipe should cook to well done in half this time. I would cut back on the cumin and the salt. And, my greatest pet peeve about most chili is that it is too soupy. I would omit the beer and tomato sauce. I prefer diced tomatoes over stewed tomatoes as the sauce is thicker. I prefer a meaty chili, not a soupy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
No wonder this has such fabulous reviews -its delicious!! We were hungry for chili, and didn't want to go to the store for my normal cheater chili mix, so decided to try it from scratch. Who knew? Only switch was a can of beef broth for the boullion, what I had on hand. We enjoyed this over tortilla chips with all the toppings as a super nacho supper. Thanks Christine and Jim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I doubled the garlic, used a dark lager and only used a pinch of salt. I didn't have pinto beans but I did have organic black beans so I used those. This was tasty--very beefy. This was quite easy, which I appreciated after the day I had. I basically sauteed the veggies and meat and threw everything in the crockpot all day, just to save on time and energy. Close to my favorite chili--I think it could use a can of tomato paste but quite good. My husband remarked this would be great in chili dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States