Jill's Summer Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
We really liked this. I added fresh pineapple, pears and kiwi to the strawberries. We used non-alcoholic red wine as I had conscientious objectors at my party. For the rum I substituted as follows for each two cups of rum: 2 cups fresh apple juice, 2 T rum extract, 2 T almond extract, 1/4 cup dark molasses. We loved this sangria, and everyone was trying to get me to let them take some home. Fat chance, it is in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was great. Very strong, so I doubled the wine and made a larger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Made this for a family barbecue and it was my first effort at sangria. Followed others suggestions and cut the amount of rum in half. It still had plenty of kick. I also halved the sugar. It went over great with those who tried it though not everyone in my family drinks alcoholic beverages. I would definitely make it again. Gingerale is a nice addition and sweetens it a little as well a dilutes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Superbly Yummy! I (of course) made some alterations to the recipe, following others advice and what intuitively seemed right. I used half watermelon rum (1 cup in each step), cut the sugar in half (though I think that it could have gone without having used the melon rum!), used frozen strawberries (not the best, fresh would have been better, for sure!), fresh apricots, peaches and pluots and the canned pineapple. I used Orange Strawberry Mango juice (see? sugar would have worked!). I used a magnum of Crane Lake cabernet sauvignon ($4!) and next time may try a white! The gingerale was a MUST!!! Too strong w/out...yummy, but dangerous!! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOSLAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Strong? Yes...i added a dash of Sprite left over from the non-alchoholic Sangria I was serving. This was a hit! I modified it a bit and used kiwis and apples and the Rum (top shelf makes all the difference). I served this at my b-day party and I'm still getting requests for the recipe! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was really very good. I only let the fruit soak for about 6 hours or so and it was plenty strong. We ended up topping each glass off with a little ginger ale which was delicious! Thanks for the easy and yummy drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe, but my friend got hammered after we drank it! So I guess it is pretty strong. I just used orange/lemon/lime slices....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
fabulous recipe!!! i omitted the cherries and also added the traditional orange/lemon/lime slices, and it was delicious! did everything else as the recipe stated and it turned out perfect. the best part is eating the fruit after the sangria is gone. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I had a girlie party a few weeks ago and this Sangria was a HUGE HIT!! I had to make enough for 48 servings...I used 1-4L bottle of Blush, 1-1/2 gal of pineapple/orange juice, 1-750ml bottle of MALIBU MANGO, 2 cups of sugar and 2-2L bottles of diet 7-up. I used orange slices, apples, black berries, strawberries and 2-20oz. cans of pineapple chunks! Even for my hardcore drinkers, this one was strong and SUPER YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl Tam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States