Jill's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was very tasty! The only thing i did different, was use tomato juice instead of ketchup. I had some left over tomato juice that needed to use up. Because ketchup is a lot sweeter and thicker, I just double the brown sugar(or sweeten to your taste), then thickened it with some corn starch. It worked out great!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My family loved this recipe. They were tired of my old recipe and all raved over this. I have to say the only change I made was to reduce the celery by about half and finely chop it because my kids would not like to bite into pieces of celery. It would be a huge turnoff if they knew there were veggies in it!!! Otherwise followed recipe as written and they are still asking for the leftovers even though they have finished it! Will definately add this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
i just made this for lunch :) super easy and super yummmmy. yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
i made a 15lb batch of this and everyone raved about how good it was. it was not like the same old sloppy joes, it had great flavor and consistancy. thanks for the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
yummy! didn't last long around here...we all loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
WOW! This was fantastic! I will never eat a sloppy joe from a season packet again... We made this in a pinch and was by far the best sloppy joes we've ever had! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HansonMansion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We loved this!! Next time we plan to chop a jalapeño into the mix. Sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
When I was a kid I loved Manwich sloppy Joes. As an adult not so much. This is a great recipe which blows Manwich's away. Like I said; I am no longer fond of that stuff you get in a can & neither is my wife but both of us as well as my son really liked it. I do not know who Jill is so for the recipe file on my computer I re-named it Sloppy Joe Montana's. A little humor PLUS good food, what else does someone need?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Rating my own spin due to following: I started with a different recipe but felt it was blah. So, I already used 1 8oz can tomato sauce (garlic flavor) & approx 1/2 cup ketchup. I had the minced celery & onion & everthing else (no water) in the sauce but the cumin/paprika/chili powder. I had to scale this to 4 servings as I had 1 lb of grnd turkey thawed. So, I added the cumin & paprika but cut way down on the chili powder cuz mine is super strong. I did simmer everything but the meat in a pot for about an hour...refrigerated that overnight, then added browned grnd turkey the next day and let that simmer till thick. The only item I added (not on the list) was a tsp of poupon style mustard & needed a little more brn sugar due to using tomato sauce. End results were super delish but next time I think I'll add 1/4 C finely diced grn pepper as I was missing that flavor. I didn't make this exactly as written but close enough for me! The cumin/paprika/chili powder made this a much better Joe. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Yum yum yum! I used wheat buns to serve them and they turned out great. I always have made sloppy Joe's out of the seasonings or cans, but this tops them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Loveless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States