Jill's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I just made a batch for supper. My middle son ate 2 sandwiches. He NEVER eats sloppy joes. I will for sure make this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I've tried a few sloppy joe recipes on this site and this one is the best. Adjusted it a little eliminating the brown sugar, adding 1 TBSP spicy BBQ sauce, used pureed tomatoes instead of ketchup, and added fresh roasted garlic. It's REALLY good. My friends absolutely love it. I am going to try making sloppy joe pockets with Pillsbury dough using this recipe. I think it will be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I added half of a green pepper, diced. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe, very tasty and I had many compliments from my coworkers when I took it for a pot luck luncheon. I chopped the onion and celery in the food processor to camouflage it in the meat, but the flavor was present. While I initially cooked it on the stove, I transferred it to the crock pot for serving it warm. Like one of the other readers, I picked the recipe because there were no peppers recommended as I don't care for their overpowering taste. I would recommend this recipe and have. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I have used this recipe as a guide several times now. It is great. There is a lot of sodium and sugar (or corn syrup) in this recipe, though. I have been tweaking to cut down on these two things. When I last made this, I used 28 oz of other tomato products - tomato sauce, some paste, a pureed can of no-salt-added diced tomatoes, and a can of tomato soup. The soup also has a lot of salt. I may try low sodium soup next time or just more sauce or paste. The brown sugar was all the sugar the recipe needed. And I would rather add a pinch more brown sugar than use ketchup. I did not add the 2 tsp of salt because there is plenty of salt in the other ingredients used. I did add some Mrs. Dash seasoning to add a touch more flavor (on top of the other seasonings I had already used). Oh, also, I only used one tbsp of chili powder because in the past the kids complained of it being too spicy. I liked it with the full 2 tbsp, but I like things more spicy than the rest of the family. I may add some more natural sweetness next time by adding diced red or orange pepper. I don't like green peppers, but the red, orange, and yellow peppers are good. The kids all gobbled it up and said it was better than the canned sloppy joe. I like this recipe so much because it is different than the rest. I decided to give it a try the first time because of the interesting blend of ingredients. I will keep using this recipe as my guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Jill, thanks for the recipe! Did you used to have another sloppy joe recipe on A/R? If you did, it was also very good. I had saved it and used it multiple times. Would love to see you repost it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
yummy! didn't last long around here...we all loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We loved this!! Next time we plan to chop a jalapeño into the mix. Sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Yum yum yum! I used wheat buns to serve them and they turned out great. I always have made sloppy Joe's out of the seasonings or cans, but this tops them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bridecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
i just made this for lunch :) super easy and super yummmmy. yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States