Jill's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was good but needed a little bit of help. I like my salsa very spicy. The recipe as written is a bit bland. For extra flavor I took 1/2 of an onion, 2 tomatillos and and a tomato and roasted them in the oven for about 15 minutes. I added this to the salsa recipe. I also doubled the garlic and jalapeño and added a bit of cayenne, some chili flakes and a dash of Mexican oregano. The end result was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This salsa is amazing! I have made it several times. I omit the olive oil, no need. I dump everything into the blender and blend for a minute or so- not too long don't want it too smooth. I also add a little kosher salt which balances it all out for me. I reduced the green onion because of my daughter and chop them up finely ( not in blender).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
oh my goodness....this is SO delicious! I made a few changes based on what I have on hand, and it turned out fabulous. I used fresh grape tomates (about 15-20), 1 tsp sugar, salt and pepper, and 1/4 white onion instead of green onion. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was so simple to make and had a great flavor. It can be forgiving too. I have even made it with 1015 onions and canned jalepenos with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Love this recipe! I opted to omit the oil and replace it with some salt and a pinch of sugar. I also used only half of a jalapeno to keep it mild. This is very similar to my favorite Mexican restaurant's salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was very yummy, but I needed to make a lot more for a big party. So I blended 4 cans of stewed tomatoes (not drained), chopped 1 whole white onion, 2 cloves of minced garlic, juice of 1 lime, 2 teaspoons of cumin, one- 4 oz can of green chilies and 1 bunch of fresh cilantro leaves chopped. Since I was making it for the first time, I was hesitant to add any spice to it. But it was VERY yummy. I think it taste like the salsa from ON THE BORDER without the kick. Next time, I will add a can of hot rotel tomatoes and blend that in with the other flavors since we know how hot that will make the it in the end. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Incredible recipe!! I only changed the tomatoes into crushed tomatoes since I am not a big fan of tomatoes. My mother in law even kept raving about the salsa! LOVE it, and it tastes better chilled for a little while so the flavors can mesh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Delicious! This is some really good salsa! I cut the recipe in half and used a 14.5 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes. I did cut back on the cilatro a bit and upped the amount of garlic to 2 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar. I added 2 tsp. of apple cider vinegar, 1/4 tsp. of salt and 1/2 tsp. of sugar. I put this into my mini food processor and let it go.... I put it in the fridge for a couple of hours to let the flavors blend. Perfect with warm tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I love this recipe. I actually didn't use a food processor, but chopped everything really finely.It was delicious! The only other changes I made were I added two cloves of garlic, a med size vidalia onion instead of the green onion, and no olive oil. It was till awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very good, but it wasn't spicy enough. I am going to leave the seeds in the jalapeno peppers and see what happens! I also used yellow onions instead of green. Very easy to make though!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States