Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I've made this recipe for years and used cream of chicken soup instead and topped it with crushed potato chips. Good use for the crushed chips at the bottom of bag that's almost gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Waaaaaay too greasy. I will use half the butter next time. Cook time was more like 55 minutes. It was pretty good though besides the grease. Would be great with veggies cooked in, which I will do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sprigg
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I added chopped ham and used cheese wiz because I was short on time. Also, I used 1/4 c butter in the mix and 1/4c butter in the corn flake topping. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Love it! Cream of chicken works too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I swapped out cream of mushroom for cream of chicken, added 8oz chopped up andouille, cut the cheese in half, reduced the butter to 1/4 cup, half an onion diced , 3 cloves of garlic minced, 2 peppers sliced,and used fat free 6oz of sour cream. I'd give it a 9/10 :) The sausage provided the fat I had taken out by reducing the butter. Pretty solid main dish (think hot dish with a twist).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Great recipe! Definitely a keeper, will be trying it with shredded hash browns too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I love this recipe! I do use cream of chicken soup and a tad more cheese ( in our home there is no such thing as to much cheese!) This is perfect to accompany anything! Also wonderful to take to parties! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CountryGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I cooked the hash browns first Than I used cream of celery, Philadelphia cream cheese, no butter, cheddar cheese, bread crumbs and french onions instead of all the other ingredients and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
One of my favorites. I sub cream of chicken soup for cream of mushroom, but both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Galanos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I baked this casserole for 45 minutes according to the instructions, but the hashbrowns (used frozen as directed) were not fully cooked and a little crunchy, so after dinner I put it back in the oven for another 30 minutes and that took care of it. I thought this recipe was a little bland and could have used a little salt. We did not care for the cornflakes on top because we found them to be chewy after they were cooked. I would try an alternative topping, like bread crumbs or ritz crackers mixed with a little butter. Speaking of butter, I think you could easily half the amount of butter and it would be better and less greasy. I probably wouldn't make this again if my husband hadn't loved it so much. I will make the changes above and try it again since he seemed to really like the idea of this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States