Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
It was absolutely delicious! Definitely a comfort food for any day. I could definitely sit and eat this all by myself. The onions and the hash browns created an excellent starchy and crunchy texture. Also, the cheddar cheese gave it a wonderful cheesy flavor. This is a recipe that all ages can enjoy. I did not use the cornflakes because I did not have any, but overall the recipe was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I am a novice cook & this recipe was so easy to make. And the best part - it was a hit at Thanksgiving! The only change I'm going to make next time is less onion, but that's just my personal preference. Overall, fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is even better with crumbled crisp bacon or cooked breakfast sausage. I add in a cup of shredded cheddar or swiss. You can substitute plain yogurt if you don't have sour cream. TIP: This is great if you make this the night before and take it out 15 minutes before you stick it in the oven. I usually serve this with english muffin bread or big fluffy biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I really liked this recipe. My family loves cheese so I doubled the cheese. Also, I didn't have an onion so I used a package of onion soup mix instead. I didn't have corn flakes either so I left that off. I put more cheese on the top for the last 15 minutes instead. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good! I have a house full of picky eaters, so I swapped the Cream of Mushroom out for Cream of Chicken and used breadcrumbs instead of corn flakes. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this for work. Everybody loved it. I made a double batch. I used a bag of o'brien hash browns. They have onions and peppers and I didn't use a onion. I used a bag of country style too. I also used 1 bag of mixed colby and montery jack cheese and 1 cheddar cheese. No salt and some pepper. I doubled everything else. Great for a group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
very good, but I prefer cream of chicken in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIMCLAREN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was a very simple and filling casserole. I made it for dinner and my boyfriend really enjoyed it! I added chorizo and it helped to make it more of a complete meal. I would suggest mixing all of the ingredients in a large bowl and then transferring to the baking dish, because it was a little difficult to mix. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacie Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
this was really yummy! I didn't have cornflakes and topped with fried onions (from the can) instead. Also, substituted low fat sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
i've made it for many different dinners and each time had people fighting to take home the leftovers....if there was any left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States