Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious recipe. I used Cream of Chicken instead of mushroom as well since that's our preference and had panko on hand so I mixed panko, some of the cheddar cheese and some of the melted butter and sprinkled on top the last 20 minutes. Wonderful that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Everyone for the most part loves this....it is awesome for almost anyone. This is a great recipe, however, you can kind of figure out wht works best for you...add a little more of this or lessen it. Also, great to add your own finese..we really like to use onion and garlic salt in a lot of things. Add...meats or other things but it is great like it is to be honest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made this last night as a spur of the moment side. I didn't have corn flakes or fried onions so I just added 1/2 the cheese o the mix and 1/2 on top. I also halved the butter and was glad I did, it would have been too greasy otherwise. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is a family favorite. This works great with texas style hashbrowns (the small square cut ones). I substitute Cream of Chicken Soup for the Cream of Mushroom Soup. I also leave out the onions and add a dash of onion and garlic powder. If you mix the corn flakes with some melted butter before topping, it will give them a good taste and crisp. Just some changes I've picked up from others. It's pretty difficult to mess this recipe up though, as it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I make this all the time. I use cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom, and dont use the corn flakes. But still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolverine, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Perfect recipe! I left out the onions since my SO doesn't care for them. It still was delicious and easy. I love the corn flakes topping. I used a 30 oz package and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
There are so many variations of this recipe but this is the best. But I did use 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and only 2 T of chopped onion. Very creamy and good. I only gave 4 stars because I did make some changes. But this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Perfect balance on a classic dish. This is one of my most favorite comfort foods. This recipe is right on as far as texture and balance goes. I love it and will never use another. I like to fry the leftovers in the morning with some eggs...Yum- even worse for you but so tasty! Thanks for sharing this awesomeness! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Delicious and easy! I baked potatoes 1st and also used 4 Tablespoons of flour instead of three. Instead of cornflakes I used a can of Frenchs french fried onions and put those on the last 10minutes of cooking. I took to brunch and received alot of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good! Used durkee onions on top instead of cornflakes. Didn't change anything else. Also, this serves well more than eight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States