Jill's Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
One of my favorites. I sub cream of chicken soup for cream of mushroom, but both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Galanos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I baked this casserole for 45 minutes according to the instructions, but the hashbrowns (used frozen as directed) were not fully cooked and a little crunchy, so after dinner I put it back in the oven for another 30 minutes and that took care of it. I thought this recipe was a little bland and could have used a little salt. We did not care for the cornflakes on top because we found them to be chewy after they were cooked. I would try an alternative topping, like bread crumbs or ritz crackers mixed with a little butter. Speaking of butter, I think you could easily half the amount of butter and it would be better and less greasy. I probably wouldn't make this again if my husband hadn't loved it so much. I will make the changes above and try it again since he seemed to really like the idea of this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Easy recipe. I used fresh potatoes which added to the baking time and used cream of celery soup. It needs a little more flavor for my family. Next time will add some diced ham or bacon , maybe some garlic , jalapenos and ground black pepper. Heck might even try some pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yachats, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I used this recipe yesterday to serve 50 people. I made almost twice as much as I should have needed, and there was very little left. I do prefer Cream of Chicken soup. --Dot M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I made this a few years ago for a family gathering and now I'm asked to make it all the time. I add ham cubes to give it a little something more. But always a hit for anytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This dish is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Made this for a family brunch, and it was a big hit. Nothing was left... would definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Very tasty! I used panko on top as I did not have corn flakes. Very crunchy topping which my kids loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I cut back on the butter & used a scratch version of cream of chicken soup to reduce sodium & eliminate gluten. Big hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe was very good, I have made it twice. The first time I made as written and served it with a ham. The second time I made it, I used 1/2 shreaded parmesan cheese and 1/2 sharp cheddar instead of all cheddar and I used cream of chicken/mushroom soup and served it with a plain herbed baked chicken, which was not a salty meat. I liked it both ways. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States