Jiffy Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I love this recipe. I'm making it tonight and going to try adding some red pepper and shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
It was good. Very flavorful and proportion of veggies to sauce to protein was just right. Sauteed the peppers and onion with the sausage and deglazed with water and tomatoes. It was a bit sweet so added a bit more hot sauce because I like it spicy. Would cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was okay for a quick, easy dinner. Compared to real jambalaya the flavor was lacking, but if you're in a hurry and just want something to use up some sausage and peppers, it's a decent pick. Added fresh garlic,cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, and used chicken broth in place of water and regular rice instead of instant (did 1.5 C rice and 2 C water and that was perfect consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We used a mixture of red and green pepper and chicken stock instead of water, cooking regular rice in the pot with everything, instead of the instant rice. Tasty and filling. I think cheese and some additional spiciness would add even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this just as written except that I cooked 3/4 cup raw regular rice and mixed it in. I thought this would be like hamburger helper, but it was actually really good and very quick to make, even without the instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was so fast and easy to make! I used light kielbasa and instant brown rice. It took very little time to put together. My husband's comment was, "This is so flavorful". My family of 4 adults ate every last bite. I agreed that it was very flavorful and I liked the taste, but I wouldn't say I loved it. In my book, it gets 5 stars because it is so easy to make and the family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WasntMeSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was really good, and everyone in my family liked it. I did use 1 1/2 cups of brown rice cooked in chicken stock for the minute rice, and omitted the extra 1/2 cup of water. I also used 1 tsp of cayenne pepper for the hot pepper sauce. Very yummy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I love spicy jambalaya and, even with substituting andouille sausage for the kielbasa, found it to be bland. Since it was such a good starter recipe I made it again but increased the hot pepper sauce to taste (1 1/2 t) added creole seasoning, black pepper, red pepper flakes (all to taste), and as another reviewer did, used regular long grain rice, adjusted the water, and prepared it in my pressure cooker to really infuse the flavors. I definately recommend this as a basic starter recipe or for someone that doesn't like much spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was very tasty. I had canned diced tomatoes with chillies, so I omitted the hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
It was ok. Not really jamalaya ....I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States