Jif® Peanut Butter Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very easy, you can change the recipe to fit what you have on hand. Definately make again. I used almonds and more oats instead of peanuts and figs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Liked it as is but loved it the 2nd time I made it!, I used multigrain hot cereal (oats, barley, wheat, quinoa, rye and flaxseed) added salted almonds instead of peanuts and some sunflower seeds. Remember to bake it on parchment paper and there's no mess to clean up! This is a must in our house and now the neighborhood kids ask for it when they come over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Great recipe. Even though I didn't make it exactly per the recipe, I gave it a 5 because the flavor was fantastic. I tweaked it per what I had on hand. It was great, and I'm sure it would be even better made per the recipe. My tweaks... I added 1 cup each of rolled barley, rolled rye flakes, sweetened coconut, flax seed, roasted sunflower seeds to the oatmeal. I didn't have peanuts or figs on hand, so I didn't add those. I also added 2 egg whites to the peanut butter / honey mix. Everything else, I kept the same. I suspect these would also be good baked into granola bars. Thanks JIF! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I used all natural peanut butter instead of Jif, and it worked great! I left out the dried fruit because my husband doesn't care for it. He loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Our family loves this! We use cashews instead of peanuts, but both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Humble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but it didn't turn out very good. It didn't seem to have enough flavor for me. Also I think the oven temp should be lower, mine started "burning" after only 20 minutes at 300. I don't think I'll try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colstrip, Montana, USA
Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Hmm. On one hand, the recipe's written with only 1 cup of oats; on the other hand, as many people have correctly pointed out, the recipe on Jif's site calls for 4 cups of oats - big discrepancy. I first tried the Jif site's recipe (4 cups oats), and found the mixture not unpleasant, but neither sweet nor PB-ery enough. Then I tried this one, and while it delivered much more PB flavor, I found it very sloppy and prone to burning in the oven. So I give up, and I'll just keep looking for a better recipe. I believe if the reviews for this recipe reflected the fact that many people used 4 cups of oats instead of 1, the overall rating would be much lower, so proceed with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I added chocolate chips to mine, which ended up melting over the clusters. It turned out fantastic. The only thing I left out was peanuts, but that's only because I forgot at the store. Next time, I'll definately make sure to grab some. I actually didn't like the taste that much(not sweet enough for me), at first, but then I found that I couldn't stop eating it. Rather than putting it all in one container, I put it in a bunch of smaller ones so I wouldn't eat it all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Yummmmm! Addicting..be careful! Only changes I made were nixing figs (personal pref) but added mixed dried fruit and cashews. Oh..and the oat amt noted was only 1/4 of what it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wvkimmy2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I used Trader Joe's organic peanut butter. I didn't have figs so I added dried blueberries. The kids had this for breakfast this morning and I have to tell you.....it was absolutely silent. They enjoyed it to the point of no sound at the breakfast table. Win for mom and kids. I'm SO making this again, though I might try a different dried fruit next time. Maybe apples or cranberries? NOTE: I also checked the JIF website and their original recipe also called for four cups of oats, so that's what I went with. If it wasn't for AMIEH's review, I would have had a mess on my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States