Jif® Peanut Butter Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I make this 2-3 times a week because I can't get enough of it! I have started making it in the microwave. I put the PB, honey and cinnamon in a glass measuring cup and put in the microwave for 1 min. then I stir it and microwave it for 1 more min. After its done I stir in the vanilla then pour it over the oats in a large mixing bowl. I've used the figs(they're very yummy) but I don't think its any better than a mix of raisins and craisins(what I usually use). I also always use diff. nuts because I don't like peanuts very much. I've used almonds, walnuts and pistachios that I roasted during the last 10 mins. of baking the granola. They all tasted great. All in all this recipe is very versatile! Sometimes I throw in extra oats (like 4 1/2 cups total) for a slightly dryer granola or I'll add these instant steel cut oats called "Coach's Oats" and it doesn't taste any different but is healthier. I usually use all natural PB (just mashed peanuts) and I haven't noticed a big difference between salted/unsalted or smooth/crunchy. It does taste sweeter if you use regular PB but its still delicious w/the healthy kind! Even reduced fat PB tastes great!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
As a peanut butter lover, this is the BEST granola. The first reviewer is correct, there should be 4 CUPS of oats added!! I also added wheat germ, walnuts, and pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is delicious! I didn't follow exactly because I didn't have peanuts or figs, and I added wheat germ and flax seed. This will be something that I keep on hand from now on. I will try as written next time. I think you can play around with this one and have amazing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Hmm. On one hand, the recipe's written with only 1 cup of oats; on the other hand, as many people have correctly pointed out, the recipe on Jif's site calls for 4 cups of oats - big discrepancy. I first tried the Jif site's recipe (4 cups oats), and found the mixture not unpleasant, but neither sweet nor PB-ery enough. Then I tried this one, and while it delivered much more PB flavor, I found it very sloppy and prone to burning in the oven. So I give up, and I'll just keep looking for a better recipe. I believe if the reviews for this recipe reflected the fact that many people used 4 cups of oats instead of 1, the overall rating would be much lower, so proceed with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Bird
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is delicious! I love being able to make my own granola without any preservatives. I love the peanut butter/honey combo. The recipe does, indeed, need 4 cups of oats and not 1. I halved the recipe, and it still yielded about 3 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was good. If you are going to make it spend the extra dollar and get the Quaker oats. They seem to help keep the recipe from becoming "crumbly like". As you spread it on the baking sheet you can sqeeze the granola and it will make clusters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I think it is better with 4 cups of oats, not 1. Everything else is the same and it is the best granola I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I used Trader Joe's organic peanut butter. I didn't have figs so I added dried blueberries. The kids had this for breakfast this morning and I have to tell you.....it was absolutely silent. They enjoyed it to the point of no sound at the breakfast table. Win for mom and kids. I'm SO making this again, though I might try a different dried fruit next time. Maybe apples or cranberries? NOTE: I also checked the JIF website and their original recipe also called for four cups of oats, so that's what I went with. If it wasn't for AMIEH's review, I would have had a mess on my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I added chocolate chips to mine, which ended up melting over the clusters. It turned out fantastic. The only thing I left out was peanuts, but that's only because I forgot at the store. Next time, I'll definately make sure to grab some. I actually didn't like the taste that much(not sweet enough for me), at first, but then I found that I couldn't stop eating it. Rather than putting it all in one container, I put it in a bunch of smaller ones so I wouldn't eat it all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This recipe was awesome! Of course you need 4 cups of rolled oats, but if you run out of them you can always substitute in cereal! I made this recipe twice and ran out of rolled oats so I added some cheerios which was a great addition! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States