Jif® Peanut Butter Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
It was dry, but tasted good! After it cooled off, I warmed some up with butter, and added a little bit of grape jelly, yummie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Now this stuff is yummy! I changed the recipe by using 1/2c brown and 1/2c white sugar, subbed butter for the oil and used creamy peanut butter. I also added probably a teaspoon of vanilla too (I always just dump in vanilla). Also, I thought that sugar was considered a "wet" ingredient, so I did not mix it with the dry, and combined the wet and dry by hand. Also, I had a few milk chocolate chips that I threw in, maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup. I got two loaves out of this as my bread rose more than I had expected. This was so good fresh from the oven with a little butter. This is my go to for brown bananas from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
as written, 4 stars. My general rule of thumb is 3 dark bananas per loaf; that gives the bread the even amt. of moisture, and taste. doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves, and had 1 small mini loaf. mini loaf took 35 min. in my oven and I didn't have to cover it. definitely use foil to cover the last 15 min. the tops do brown @the 45 min. mark. Used full fat JIF crunchy, and subbed applesauce for oil, and buttermilk for the milk. Makes a tender loaf, moist, and this is much much better the next day. more moist and w/more flavor. would suggest making a day ahead of serving for flavors to meld better. this is a heavy loaf, and a heavy batter; that is a good thing if adding add-ins such as chips or nuts; they won't sink to the bottom and will be more evenly distributed throughout loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly but I baked as a batch of 12 muffins at 350 for 24 min. and they came out perfect. Great taste and good moist texture! I wouldnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleahh2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I did cut back on the milk by a teaspoon and I added a teaspoon of vanilla and because my bananas were really ripe, I cut back on the sugar by half. Honestly, there wasn't near enough liquid for the flour called for in this recipe. I added two more large bananas and then, it was just right. I had a feeling just looking at the recipe it wouldn't be enough. For me, this was quite a bit more than 12 servings. I made muffins out of this and I got 20 muffins out of one recipe. 18 minutes at 350 degrees was just right for muffins. Good recipe, with some tweaking. If I made these again, I'd cut out a cup of flour. There really was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This recipe is so easy. I followed the recipe exact and it turned out just right. I like spreading butter while it is warm for more moisture ( like cornbread) Peanut butter taste shows up after the bite. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I am just learning the concept of "from scratch" and was really worried about making any breads. THIS IS EASY!!!! I have made it twice now and will continue to make it anytime i have extra bananas! Makes me feel like I can make anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anirtac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Judging by the reviews, I realized that this recipe was pretty malleable. I used 1.5 cups of flour and 3/4 cup of peanut flour (instead of peanut butter). I also replaced the oil with 1/2 cup of applesauce. Left the remaining ingredients the same and it came out extremely moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is so good! None of the ingredients overpower the other. Perfect taste of bananas, perfect amount of peanut butter. Just like the sandwich! Yum. This came out beautiful. I made no changes and I was able to get two loaves from this recipe. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I changed this up some; I used 1 1/2 cups of bananas, apple juice instead of milk and apple sauce instead of oil. I made mini loaves for Christmas presents that I plan to freeze. Great peanut butter taste! (I'd much rather taste the PB than the banana's!) These turned out very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States