JIF® Buckeyes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Don't know how these could possibly be any better. Murderously silken in texture and decadently smooth in peanutty flavor. Had no trouble dipping them in the chocolate after about an hour in the fridge. Messy work, but well worth the clean-up. I shaped them into eggs for Easter, dipped in bittersweet chocolate and then drizzled with white chocolate. Easiest way to dip: wear latex gloves. Put a Tb or so of melted chocolate in the palm of your non-dominant hand. Roll the refrigerated center around in it and place on waxed paper. Keeps the mess very minimal. This will give you a nice, light coating. If you want a thicker coat, wait until the first coat solidifies, and repeat. Double dipping gives a luxuriously thick layer of chocolate. Fast, fast, fast this way, and as painless as possible. For highest sheen, melt chocolate in a double boiler off heat. First boil the water in the bottom, remove from heat and place the top over the water. Reboil water as necessary (removing the top part) and put the chocolate back over after you removed it from the heat. Do this whenever the chocolate gets too thick, as well. BTW, don't omit the salt in the filling as it provides necessary counterpoint to the otherwise relentless sweetness. Tastes reminiscent of Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, but worlds better, like they came from an old-world confectionary! BTW, if shaping them as buckeyes, recipe only makes about 48 - 1" diameter balls. If you want 60, then roll to about 3/4".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These came out creamy and just the right balance of sweetness and saltiness. One thing I did that isn't in the recipe is to put the peanut butter mixture in the freezer for about 30 minutes before forming them into balls. It made it much easier to form. I then put the balls in the freezer for another 30 minutes before dipping it in the chocolate. This made them nice and firm. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
The best peanut butter ball I've ever tried. Very smooth. My husband even likes them without the chocolate on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe! It worked out for me well. When I made it I only came up with 45 buckeyes, but that was a perfect number for me! Buckeyes are a great treat in the fall. This recipe has less calories than I found on other ones on allrecipes, so this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emschap11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Been making these for a long time - my family can not wait for these every year! I make as eggs for Easter, hearts for Valentines day and I use a shamrock cookie cutter for the St. Pat's day. Instead of rolling in balls for the other holiday shapes, I roll out between 2 sheets of parchment until I get the thickness I want. I freeze the dough right on the cookie sheet. Once cold I cut out the shapes, re-roll scraps and continue until all dough is used. Keep everything well chilled or frozen so they hold their shape for dipping. I use forks, not toothpicks, to dip. Shamrocks get green chocolate and hearts get red - you can find colored chocolate at craft stores. lots of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I just made these this past weekend as I was having a craving for them. My mother used to make these for the holidays and since she is no longer here I wanted to not only satisfy my craving for the taste, but to also have something to take me back to the days of her making them and BOY! did these do the job! They are soo good! It took about 2 1/2 cups of the sugar for me to get them to roll up into the perfect ball shape, I popped them into the freezer for about 10 minutes and got my chocolate and shortening melted and here's a tip for dipping them. I put 4 or 5 balls into the bowl where the chocolate has been melted, roll that around with a spoon and then lift them up with a fork to release all the extra chocolate! These are a definite keeper! Thank you for taking me back to years long since past! This is staying in my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I followed the directions and they turned out great. I doubled the recipe and they where all gone in 2 days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rowasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
too sweat , way too sweat. i would suggest using 2 and a half cups powdered sugar and half as much salt. it was too salty to. i will try another buckeye recipe before trying this one again! sorry JIF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great tasty little treat! It made 47 buckeyes and I had chocolate left over. I had some trouble with the dough, however. It was VERY crumbly and hard to form into balls. Not sure what the problem was, as I followed the recipe exactly. Maybe I needed more powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These turned out fantastic! Very creamy and full of flavor. I only added a little over 2 cups of sugar and did not use all of the chocolate for dipping so next time I may make a little less chocolate but I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States