JIF® Buckeyes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Okay, so fully intended on following the recipe, but ran out of peanutbutter, but had Nutella, so I added that as well, and OH MY... So good, they are in the fridge setting up for their Chocolate Coating... Can't wait, I'll be sending some to my mother, grandmother and girlfriend, I had so many, and I halfed the recipe!!! Thanks so much for the recipe, and glad I had the (run out) accident!!! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Mixture was too crumbly and dry to form balls. Added more PB but they still tasted like a ball of sugar. Sad, but I really wanted to like these. I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Sorry to disappoint all the Jiff Buckeyes fans, but this recipe was turning out to be too sugary. I stopped adding the powder sugar at 2 cups and then added 1 cup of Rice Krispies to replace the missing 1 cup powder sugar. Turned out great! Still very sweet, but I'm guessing my substitution gave it a more peanut buttery taste. The Krispies added a nice crunchy surprise! I'll bump my rating to 5/5 with the change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made these for a judged bake sale at work and won 1st place! Everyone loved them. The only thing you need to be sure of is to have the peanut butter balls very firm when you dip into the melted chocolate. They will fall off the toothpick. Refrigerate for about 2 hours or more before dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Good but rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taryn816

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious! Taste just like the ones I remembered growing up! Featured them on my food blog :) love love love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damegoodeats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great tasty little treat! It made 47 buckeyes and I had chocolate left over. I had some trouble with the dough, however. It was VERY crumbly and hard to form into balls. Not sure what the problem was, as I followed the recipe exactly. Maybe I needed more powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I just made these this past weekend as I was having a craving for them. My mother used to make these for the holidays and since she is no longer here I wanted to not only satisfy my craving for the taste, but to also have something to take me back to the days of her making them and BOY! did these do the job! They are soo good! It took about 2 1/2 cups of the sugar for me to get them to roll up into the perfect ball shape, I popped them into the freezer for about 10 minutes and got my chocolate and shortening melted and here's a tip for dipping them. I put 4 or 5 balls into the bowl where the chocolate has been melted, roll that around with a spoon and then lift them up with a fork to release all the extra chocolate! These are a definite keeper! Thank you for taking me back to years long since past! This is staying in my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Been making these for a long time - my family can not wait for these every year! I make as eggs for Easter, hearts for Valentines day and I use a shamrock cookie cutter for the St. Pat's day. Instead of rolling in balls for the other holiday shapes, I roll out between 2 sheets of parchment until I get the thickness I want. I freeze the dough right on the cookie sheet. Once cold I cut out the shapes, re-roll scraps and continue until all dough is used. Keep everything well chilled or frozen so they hold their shape for dipping. I use forks, not toothpicks, to dip. Shamrocks get green chocolate and hearts get red - you can find colored chocolate at craft stores. lots of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are really good, but they are very messy to make. The peanut butter was sticking to my hands so bad I had to pop the PB back in the fridge for a couple mins before I could continue. I let my PB chill for about 3 hrs after forming them into balls, but they were still too soft. Next time I will put them in the freezer before dipping them. Since my PB balls were so soft, I had a heck of a time dipping them in chocolate since they wouldn't stay on the toothpick. I ended up just throwing them into the chocolate and coating them completely. They still tasted delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States