JIF® Buckeyes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Been making these for a long time - my family can not wait for these every year! I make as eggs for Easter, hearts for Valentines day and I use a shamrock cookie cutter for the St. Pat's day. Instead of rolling in balls for the other holiday shapes, I roll out between 2 sheets of parchment until I get the thickness I want. I freeze the dough right on the cookie sheet. Once cold I cut out the shapes, re-roll scraps and continue until all dough is used. Keep everything well chilled or frozen so they hold their shape for dipping. I use forks, not toothpicks, to dip. Shamrocks get green chocolate and hearts get red - you can find colored chocolate at craft stores. lots of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are really good, but they are very messy to make. The peanut butter was sticking to my hands so bad I had to pop the PB back in the fridge for a couple mins before I could continue. I let my PB chill for about 3 hrs after forming them into balls, but they were still too soft. Next time I will put them in the freezer before dipping them. Since my PB balls were so soft, I had a heck of a time dipping them in chocolate since they wouldn't stay on the toothpick. I ended up just throwing them into the chocolate and coating them completely. They still tasted delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wonderful loved by family- double recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These turned out fantastic! Very creamy and full of flavor. I only added a little over 2 cups of sugar and did not use all of the chocolate for dipping so next time I may make a little less chocolate but I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar4stall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These came out creamy and just the right balance of sweetness and saltiness. One thing I did that isn't in the recipe is to put the peanut butter mixture in the freezer for about 30 minutes before forming them into balls. It made it much easier to form. I then put the balls in the freezer for another 30 minutes before dipping it in the chocolate. This made them nice and firm. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
too sweat , way too sweat. i would suggest using 2 and a half cups powdered sugar and half as much salt. it was too salty to. i will try another buckeye recipe before trying this one again! sorry JIF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Very good, but I ran out of chocolate before they were all covered and had to make more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Super Quick and Yummy! I replaced 1/2 cup of the PB with extra chunky, for little peanut surprises! Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought these were great, they were gone same day they were made! I agree that they should be bite size, VERY rich. Did these with my friend, we re-microwaved the chocolate every minute or so and kept the peanut butter balls in the freezer; pulling a few out at a time so that the chocolate would stick. Super easy and a must do! Both our familys loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States