Jicama Mango Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I added about 1/2 tsp. of cumin and loved it. I actually get hungry for this salad. I don't have agave, so I just used Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
The missing ingredient is SALT. Much better once I sprinkled it with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
A truly great recipe. The dish looks and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Perhaps adding some cilantro would give this salad a little punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I LOVED this salad. I served it with grilled chicken tandoori kabobs. The mangos we got were nice and sweet, which makes a big difference. I left out the carrots just because I don't like them, but we didn't reduce the amount of the other spices (zest, raspberry vinegar, etc.) that went in. Also, we cut the ingredients cubed vs. julienne - just a different texture. It did taste better the 2nd day - very refreshing because of the mint and crunchy jicama, sweet because of the mango and tangy because of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Not much else to say other that this is just ok. As the others said there is something missing but I don't know what it is. Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I enjoyed this salad, but in moderation and when paired with the right food flavors. I served this last night with some (spicy) blackened fish and the pairing was incredible! I'll probably make something similar to this again, but maybe try out some sort of more mild flavored dressing--maybe just a splash each of oil, vinegar, and lime. The vegetables in this dish stay crunchy and flavorful for at least a couple days, and even get more delicious as the different flavors sit together longer. Thanks for the great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gonefishn
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I love the idea of fresh anything and the jicima and mango sound so exotic. I substituted red wine vinegar for raspberry and used a dash of dried mint instead of fresh :(. Also, I happened to have agave syrup so I used abt. a tsp. of it instead of nectar. I couldn't wait 30 minutes and dove right in. Unfortunately, this recipe fell flat for me. I love all the ingredients but this combination needs a little somethin' somethin'. I added a dash of cayenne and a few chopped green onions. It was a little better. Admittingly, I tried it an hour later after the dressing had time to work its magic and it did get better. Ultimately though it still seems like it needs something to add pizzazz. I don't use mangos or jicima a lot and don't have any good ideas for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States