Jicama and Pineapple Salad in a Cilantro Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is a great, fun recipe. The one change that really steps it up is to grill the peppers, pineapple and jicama just long enough to get grill marks. The jicama should be a slab, then slice across the grill marks for an interesting presentation. The quick grill also kicks up the sugars in the pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This salad is a great summertime treat and seems like it would go with many main dishes. I didn't have Serrano peppers, so I used one finely-minced fresh jalapeño pepper, and that worked well. Next time I would cut the salt in half. I plan to try adding shrimp to use it as a main-dish salad, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I served this with a southwest marinated pork tenderloin, was a perfect combination. As a side dish, this could probably serve 8 people - I don't know if I had an unusually large jicama or something, but this made a LOT of salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a great salad. The recipe worked perfectly. It's refreshing and tasty! it on my list of favourites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was super fast & easy to assemble and very refreshing on a hot summer day. The only change I made was to dice the jicama. Will definitely try this again (and with shrimp as suggested by some other reviewers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This salad is wonderful. I have made it several times now, and have been making double batches (not double the lettuce or avo) so that I could have more jicama/pineapple leftovers!! The only change that I made was to substitute Anaheim peppers for the seranos, I love spicy, but not everyone in my family does. Anaheims have great flavor without 'burning' anyone's throat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I expected to love this recipe. I may consider trying it one more time but will substitute canola oil for the olive oil because I thought the olive oil completely overpowered the lime and cilantro flavors. I'll probably add some lime zest to it as well. My family wouldn't even finish eating their portions. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
love it! photo of pouch got my attention, LOVE IT TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuzysMommy
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is one of the best recipes I've taken a chance on. I left out the peppers just because I wasn't looking for spicy this night. Didn't miss it at all! The salad was so crisp and fresh. The sweet and tart together was FABULOUS! Like another reviewer, I sauteed some shrimp to increase the protein. I substituted red wine vinegar for the rice vinegar and halved the recipe. I didn't end up with much "dressing" to drizzle on top so I used a very small amount of balsamic vinaigrette over top of the salad (maybe 1TB, probably a little less). It didn't affect the flavor, just gave it more of a coating. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I knew my guests wouldn't like the hot pepper in this salad so I substituted 1 tsp. of Mrs. Dash salt free Fiesta Lime shake. I also added honey, about 3 tbs. and about a quarter of a red onion chopped fine to add a little kick and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States