Jicama and Pineapple Salad in a Cilantro Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I served this with a southwest marinated pork tenderloin, was a perfect combination. As a side dish, this could probably serve 8 people - I don't know if I had an unusually large jicama or something, but this made a LOT of salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a great salad. The recipe worked perfectly. It's refreshing and tasty! it on my list of favourites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was super fast & easy to assemble and very refreshing on a hot summer day. The only change I made was to dice the jicama. Will definitely try this again (and with shrimp as suggested by some other reviewers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This salad is wonderful. I have made it several times now, and have been making double batches (not double the lettuce or avo) so that I could have more jicama/pineapple leftovers!! The only change that I made was to substitute Anaheim peppers for the seranos, I love spicy, but not everyone in my family does. Anaheims have great flavor without 'burning' anyone's throat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I expected to love this recipe. I may consider trying it one more time but will substitute canola oil for the olive oil because I thought the olive oil completely overpowered the lime and cilantro flavors. I'll probably add some lime zest to it as well. My family wouldn't even finish eating their portions. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
love it! photo of pouch got my attention, LOVE IT TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuzysMommy
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is one of the best recipes I've taken a chance on. I left out the peppers just because I wasn't looking for spicy this night. Didn't miss it at all! The salad was so crisp and fresh. The sweet and tart together was FABULOUS! Like another reviewer, I sauteed some shrimp to increase the protein. I substituted red wine vinegar for the rice vinegar and halved the recipe. I didn't end up with much "dressing" to drizzle on top so I used a very small amount of balsamic vinaigrette over top of the salad (maybe 1TB, probably a little less). It didn't affect the flavor, just gave it more of a coating. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I knew my guests wouldn't like the hot pepper in this salad so I substituted 1 tsp. of Mrs. Dash salt free Fiesta Lime shake. I also added honey, about 3 tbs. and about a quarter of a red onion chopped fine to add a little kick and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My very favourite salad recipe. The peppers add a nice bite but don't overpower. I've also made it without the peppers when serving to kids. I made them for my son's birthday and a couple of years later, people still mention it! Very light and refreshing.. it's the only time I've seen people going back for second and thirds of the salad instead of the items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe sounded like it was something right up my alley. I never met a veggie I didn't like and I do like jicama but the combo of these flavors...I don't know what it was, I just really didn't like it. Maybe my pineapple wasn't sweet enough or used too much cilantro...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States