Jicama and Pineapple Salad in a Cilantro Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is a great, fun recipe. The one change that really steps it up is to grill the peppers, pineapple and jicama just long enough to get grill marks. The jicama should be a slab, then slice across the grill marks for an interesting presentation. The quick grill also kicks up the sugars in the pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This salad is a great summertime treat and seems like it would go with many main dishes. I didn't have Serrano peppers, so I used one finely-minced fresh jalapeño pepper, and that worked well. Next time I would cut the salt in half. I plan to try adding shrimp to use it as a main-dish salad, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I served this with a southwest marinated pork tenderloin, was a perfect combination. As a side dish, this could probably serve 8 people - I don't know if I had an unusually large jicama or something, but this made a LOT of salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a great salad. The recipe worked perfectly. It's refreshing and tasty! it on my list of favourites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was super fast & easy to assemble and very refreshing on a hot summer day. The only change I made was to dice the jicama. Will definitely try this again (and with shrimp as suggested by some other reviewers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This salad is wonderful. I have made it several times now, and have been making double batches (not double the lettuce or avo) so that I could have more jicama/pineapple leftovers!! The only change that I made was to substitute Anaheim peppers for the seranos, I love spicy, but not everyone in my family does. Anaheims have great flavor without 'burning' anyone's throat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I expected to love this recipe. I may consider trying it one more time but will substitute canola oil for the olive oil because I thought the olive oil completely overpowered the lime and cilantro flavors. I'll probably add some lime zest to it as well. My family wouldn't even finish eating their portions. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
love it! photo of pouch got my attention, LOVE IT TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuzysMommy
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is one of the best recipes I've taken a chance on. I left out the peppers just because I wasn't looking for spicy this night. Didn't miss it at all! The salad was so crisp and fresh. The sweet and tart together was FABULOUS! Like another reviewer, I sauteed some shrimp to increase the protein. I substituted red wine vinegar for the rice vinegar and halved the recipe. I didn't end up with much "dressing" to drizzle on top so I used a very small amount of balsamic vinaigrette over top of the salad (maybe 1TB, probably a little less). It didn't affect the flavor, just gave it more of a coating. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I knew my guests wouldn't like the hot pepper in this salad so I substituted 1 tsp. of Mrs. Dash salt free Fiesta Lime shake. I also added honey, about 3 tbs. and about a quarter of a red onion chopped fine to add a little kick and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States