Jibarito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Born and raised in Chicago as a Puerto Rican, we enjoy these with thick slices of cooked pork (Jamon) instead of steak. My personal addition is a slice of avacado. This is a very easy and special traditional meal. When preparing to take out...wrap each sandwich individually in foil to help keep ingredients together...but best fresh and hot! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
¡Qué Rico! I LOVE these sandwiches. They make you happy when you make them and eat them...at least they do in our house. I always made mine with chicken, but the skirt steak is excellente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I don't get it....I did not like this at all. The parts of the dish don't blend well. I also thought the directions were lacking at times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKelly
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These are excellent! Doubled the recipe and have done these twice in the past 2 weeks. First as written, the second time as the "Sandwich King" on Food Network does it: with ham, cheese, lettuce, tomato and a zesty garlic mayo (I also added avocado slices). The use of the plantains instead of bread is so versatile and I will try this with many more sandwich combinations (I'm thinking Cubano and BLT). This one is truly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
We couldn't find plantains, so we had to use red-bannanas as a substitute. Structural integrity was lacking (as expected given the choice) but it was surprisingly yummy. The fried bannanas definately give it that extra something to go with the mayo. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I made these with seasoned shredded chicken, white american cheese and guacamole. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Sandwich de platano! Delicioso! I like to season the meat with a little bit of salt & pepper or adobo, but if you are watching sodium then it's not necessary, the spices add some good flavor. You can really make these sandwiches with any meat that you like. I love it with chicken or turkey breast, or even some thick sliced virginia ham. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Ummm, pretty good but didn't love 'em. I skipped the cheese and added avocado. It tasted like it needed a little extra kick, maybe some more salt&garlic? I'll try them again, or maybe just stick to the steak with a side of tostones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAZMINELOAIZA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I love it!!! sooooo good!!!! OMG i can eat these every day!!! Yumm!!! My family really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Nueva, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Very tasty. We substituted muenster cheese for the American and served them open face. We will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States