Jibarito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was great! The only thing that would greatly improve it would be to add seasoning to the steak which was lacking a bit of flavor. Otherwise, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I loved it! I skipped the lettuce, tomato, and mayo. I made sure the steak and onions were well browned. Only thing it needed was salt. I was skeptical about the american cheese but the way it melted really made it good and makes it preferable to other types of cheese. I used flat iron steak instead of skirt and it was perfect. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
these are the best. spread with mayo, ketchup and garlic mixed together to make a sauce. and its yummmmyyy : p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Rachel made this for me and it was fantastic. It was her first time making Puerto Rican food and I was impressed. I hope she makes it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHMEJIAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I tried something similar in Santiago de Cuba once, is a very traditional thing to use green plantain in most parts of the caribbean. I recommend to use the not very-green plantains (but not overripe plantains either), as the way they are used in Mexico not in Cuba, because this way are a little bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was so excellent. A friend from my husbands work suggested we make these. Glad we did. Our 4 and 5 years even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These are excellent! Doubled the recipe and have done these twice in the past 2 weeks. First as written, the second time as the "Sandwich King" on Food Network does it: with ham, cheese, lettuce, tomato and a zesty garlic mayo (I also added avocado slices). The use of the plantains instead of bread is so versatile and I will try this with many more sandwich combinations (I'm thinking Cubano and BLT). This one is truly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Soooo yummy!!! I mixed the mayo with equal amounts of ketchup and spread it on the plantain, it gives it so much more flavor. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I made these with seasoned shredded chicken, white american cheese and guacamole. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I don't get it....I did not like this at all. The parts of the dish don't blend well. I also thought the directions were lacking at times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKelly
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States