JG's Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made with Sirloin Tip so the kids would eat it. Made a great stew with a combination of favors. Easily enough for two meals for a family. Served with soda bread. Thanks for the recipe. The fire-roasted tomatoes add more than plain tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Wow! Amazing. It has so many layers of flavors. I would definitely make this again. We did use lamb, but I think it would be just as good with beef, however my husband disagrees with me ; ) One change we made is that we only used about half the rutabaga. Once we got it all chopped it was just so much and didn't look like all that chopped rutabaga belonged in the stew! We used the fire-roasted tomatoes that the recipe also calls for and I do like some kick to my stews, so we really enjoyed it, but if you don't like spice, then use a can of regular diced tomatoes. One more thing... it needs a bit more juice or water. Ours was really thick. I can see this recipe becoming a family favorite. Thanks so much for creating it JG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amstevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I questioned the addition of rutabaga...and I'm a big fan of rutabagas...and cut down to half the amount called for. I found myself picking out the rutabagas and set aside to eat separately. The rest was very good but just can't give it 5 stars...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Great recipe. I also used beef (and left out rutabaga) for the kids....can't wait to try it with the Lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warrior Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Went to the butcher and got fresh lamb and some good Irish beer, made a loaf of Irish potato bread and we had a great meal. I would recommend this to anyone, we had our good friends over for supper and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topfuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
The final product was pretty tasty, but this recipe is somewhat labor-intensive for a one-pot meal. This was a hearty and satisfying meal in the end, and the leftovers were great heated up for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was a wonderful hearty meal! I used parsnips in place of the rutabaga and fire roasted red peppers in place of the tomatoes and reduced the barley to 2/3 cup. I will certainly make this again it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My husband gave me grief about buying lamb because it's so expensive where we live, but after having this stew he asked me to make it again 2 days later, but with even more lamb. It was a huge hit with everyone, will be making this again & again! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was excellent! We left out the rutabagas and added a bit more potato. We also used some San Marzano tomatoes we had on hand instead of the fire roasted tomatoes. And, we used dried herbs instead of fresh, as we also already had those on hand. We did not add the flour at the end, but the broth still had a nice thickness from the barley. We used a nice coffee porter from a local brewery instead of Guiness. All in all very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is very tasty. Enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States